Cartoon credits: Pratheesh PD

Confession Of The Guy Who Cut Down The Branch He Sat On —Without Regretting It!

Amal Rafeeq

--

I have a confession to make.

I regret doing something. Something I did 2 years ago, that I still regret.

I regret it so much that if I had a time machine, I would go 2 years back in time just to make sure I didn’t do it.

And today, I think it’s time I admit my mistake to everyone. I’ve to confess.

Two years ago, I joined college!

Nope, you didn’t read it wrong nor did I made a typo.

If you’re someone who knows me very well: I can sense that smile on your face (which just happened to be true, right?) and I know that you’re already planning to talk to me about it.

And if you’re someone who doesn’t know me at all, you’re probably thinking that I’m a cool college dropout who now owns a million dollar business or that I earn a four figure income every month. Nope! (NOT YET)

You know that cutting the branch you’re sitting on is a terrible idea, probably the stupidest thing you could ever do.

Very much contrary to that idea, I disagree.

Two long years ago, I climbed up a branch called college. I climbed it up thinking that my future would be secure and beautiful, just by sitting there.

I was told that it’s the best thing I could do to live a happily ever after life. I was told that my life would be a disaster if I wouldn’t. So I did.

After keeping my passion for digital marketing and growth hacking aside for a while, I climbed up the branch. It was indeed a beautiful view. And it was in fact kind of secure.

Time flew by, so did many opportunities.

It became my comfort zone. I very much liked the idea of it. Secure, promising and normal. I was going with the flow.

That’s when I started realizing that security or a normal life isn’t what I wanted. I wanted an action-packed adventurous life. You know, like in the James Cameron movies, but with a bit of J.K Rowling style.

I needed to get out of the comfort zone.

I realized that I was wasting my time. I kept my passion aside just to become one among the others. It took me a while to realize that I was becoming just another dead fish in the river.

A dead fish that went with the flow.

That’s not what I wanted to be. I wanted to swim against the flow. Against the incoming current. Become alive.

Regret grew big. And I knew it was time. Time I cut down the branch, even though I was sitting on it.

And I did.

Two months ago, I cut down the branch I was sitting on which I climbed up two years ago.

Two months ago, I dropped outta college.

Zero regrets.

And now, the so-called safe players and professionals are telling me that — “I’m neither safe nor gonna make it big”.

But guess what has always been my fuel? These people.

Just tell me that I can’t, then you’ll be my biggest motivation. I might not win immediately, but I’ll win definitely.

I know, I know. Risky move indeed. But I’m pretty sure that sticking on to the branch is riskier.

I believe in the idea of taking educated guesses and calculated risks.

Our society is fucked up with an education system (that keeps lying to you), stereotypes (that doesn’t let you think beyond the lies to the truth) and millions of people who doesn’t want to step out of their comfort zone.

Doesn’t it sound like a nuclear weapon?

Where I come from, you’ll need a degree to survive. It’s much more like you use it as an access card.

You need to swipe it to get a job, to get into certain group of people, to get married, to get a loan and much more.

The system gives you the technical education, not how to implement it or how to make use of the knowledge you’re equipped with.

It doesn’t teach you about the truth and meaning of life.

If you’re someone with a degree and having a job right now, just ask yourself.

Does your degree or what you’ve studied in class have anything to do with what you’re doing right now? In some rare cases, yes. But don’t you think experiments and experience through self education would’ve done better?

Disagree with me? Let’s argue over the comments below.

I don’t have a degree. But I’ve a beautiful and improving life. I’m bettering it day by day.

And, I’ve no regrets for doing this. I just regret joining college. I was wrong at that time. And that taught me a lot.

Whoa, feels so good to confess.

Before I round up the post, I’d like to share with you some of the things I’ve learned.

  • Do not treat your ideas like a caged bird. Follow your guts.
  • Take calculated risks. The fear of failing helps. But the fear of being the odd one out won’t. In fact, it could break you down.
  • Make mistakes. Keep doing it.
  • The more harder you work, the luckier you get.
  • And always remember your where you came from, the people you met, the people who contributed something to your life and your experiences.
  • Karma exists. What goes around, comes around.

If you think cutting down the branch while sitting on it was a good idea, let me know by hitting that little green button below.

Or if you think it was a risky one, just do the same. Boohuhuhuhahaaa. I’m leaving you no choice buddy.

Cheers. Till next time,

The guy who cut down the branch he sat on.

--

--