Never Call Anyone a Creepy Old Man

It says more about you than it says about them

Amanda Sexton
5 min readDec 17, 2021
Old man looking concerned
Image by BuonoDelTesoro on Pixabay

I recently read a news story about a personal trainer by the name of Heidi Aragon. She attracted a lot of attention by using a TikTok video to vilify a man she saw at a gym. It seems she found it offensive that this man had been watching her work out. She complained that he had been “staring” at her — although I saw little evidence to support that claim.

It seems a little absurd to me that she was quite happy for millions of internet users to watch her working out in her body-hugging gym outfit, but took great offence when a fellow gym user did the same.

Maybe it is a breach of Californian gym etiquette to look at a fellow gym user for more than a certain amount of time. I wouldn’t really know, as I exercise outdoors and don’t live in California.

Personally, I don’t really think it should be any of her business what this man was looking at whilst he was was working out. They’re his eyes. And I didn’t see any evidence that he was deliberately trying to intimidate anybody. He looked in her direction. But so what?

A gym user looking at another gym user
A gym user looking at another gym user. Image from Dailymail.com (Fair Use)

--

--