Emails From A CEO Who Just Had A Great Branding Idea

Amanda Rosenberg
3 min readFeb 12, 2016

--

Date: October 23 , 2015 at 3:29:02 AM PST
From: David Front <dave@spunklabs.com>
To: team@spunklabs.com
Subject: Brand Rebrand

Hi team,

I was having dinner with a friend tonight, and they brought their friend, Jim, who’s a dentist, and Jim briefly mentioned that he wasn’t a big fan of our logo, so now I want a total re-brand. Let me know if you have any ideas.

Thanks,

David. CEO & Founder, Spunk Labs.

Date: October 23 , 2015 at 3:31:05 AM PST
From: David Front <dave@spunklabs.com>
To: team@spunklabs.com
Subject: Re: Brand Rebrand

I’ve got some ideas. It has to be minimal. Super clean. Like Apple BUT NOT LIKE APPLE. We are NOT APPLE, but like, the cleanliness of Apple. I hate those companies who act like they don’t want to be like Apple, but they secretly do, and it shows, but they’re afraid to show it. So pathetic.

Thx,

Dave. CEO & Founder, Spunk Labs.

Date: October 23 , 2015 at 3:35:07 AM PST
From: David Front <dave@spunklabs.com>
To: team@spunklabs.com
Subject: Re:Re: Brand Rebrand

It’s important for the brand to look and feel human. We’re a tech company. Tech is the opposite of human, so we have to make the brand human. Humans attract humans. I’ve got some human ideas. What if our website is just covered in skin? Please, someone mock up the skin site. Play around with it. Make sure these humans know how human we are.

-D. CEO & Founder, Spunk Labs.

Date: October 23 , 2015 at 3:41:09 AM PST
From: David Front <dave@spunklabs.com>
To: team@spunklabs.com
Subject: Re:Re:Re: Brand Rebrand

The brand should be wordless. It’s mysterious and insane.

-D. CEO & Founder, Spunk Labs.

Date: October 23 , 2015 at 3:46:07 AM PST
From: David Front <dave@spunklabs.com>
To: team@spunklabs.com
Subject: Re:Re:Re:Re: Brand Rebrand

Speaking of insane, I also want us to be edgy. Edgy is different from cool. Cool is lame now. Edgy is intriguing. You know what I mean. Be controversial, but in a commercial way, like cold brew.

D. CEO & Founder, Spunk Labs.

Date: October 23 , 2015 at 3:59:02 AM PST
From: David Front <dave@spunklabs.com>
To: team@spunklabs.com
Subject: Re:Re:Re:Re:Re: Brand Rebrand

So, for the logo. What if it’s something random? Something unexpected? Hear me out.

What’s minimal, human, wordless, and edgy? I’ll tell you what…a toe. Exactly, it’s brilliant. I’ve mocked up a few designs myself. I’ve attached them to this email, and I have to say, they’re pretty damn good. I’d love to see 20 more options for the toe by EOD, but we’ll probably go with one of mine, but do it anyway.

d. CEO & Founder, Spunk Labs.

--

--