I have a mental illness and here are some real dangers I pose to you.

Amanda Rosenberg
2 min readMay 31, 2018

--

Image credit: Melusina Parkin
  • Not returning your calls, texts, or DM’s but still posting online…a lot.
  • Agreeing to meet up then bailing last minute because I have <insert fake yet serious-sounding physical ailment>.
  • Taking medication and not being racist.
  • Leaving your party without saying goodbye to anyone, unless there’s a pet, in which case I will say goodbye to the pet then leave.
  • Not taking medication and not being racist.
  • Not turning up to your party at all and blaming it on a <insert fake yet serious-sounding physical ailment>.
  • Taking a flippant comment you made to heart and thinking about it non-stop so I don’t sleep for 16 weeks.
  • Saying “I’m fine” when you ask if I’m ok but when I see you’re unconvinced, start to laugh and say, “seriously I’m FINE, jeez!”
  • Lying to you about being fine.
  • Being a shitty friend and blaming it on my mental illness.
  • Being a great friend and crediting my mental illness.
  • Being a friend.
  • Getting upset when you don’t invite me to stuff because you know I won’t show up but would still like to be invited.
  • Confronting you about the flippant comment from 16 weeks ago which you forgot about but has been haunting me for 16 weeks.
  • Repeatedly asking, “should we leave soon?” the minute we turn up to anything.
  • Having to check in on me because I haven’t left my bed in weeks and am now a disgusting ball of hair and body odor which I will blame on my <fake yet serious-sounding physical ailment>.
  • Tweeting about how lonely I am and when you ask if I wanna hang out I’m like “Sure! I’ll let you know when” but I never let you know when.
  • Never wanting to hurt you or anyone else.
  • Only wanting to hurt myself.
  • Feeling lucky to have you.
  • Feeling lucky to be here.

--

--