PEACE AMAUGO
2 min readFeb 21, 2021

How was Valentine’s day? Was she pretty?!

(Just because I look as peaceful as my mother thought I’d be when she called me ‘Udo’ and my skin was in her glory days)

Babym!!!

Miss me? how was Valentine’s day? Did you go out with another girl? Was she pretty? did she make you laugh? Did you kiss her? Are you both dating now or was it a one time thing? I’m not jealous,I promise!

Did you think of me when she smiled at you?was she light skinned? Ok! ok!! I’ll stop

Just one more question please,does she have baby curls? Did she lay her edges? Wait!! Last one did she wear a red lipstick? You bought her roses? Was it a candle light dinner?Wipe that grin off your face and answer me joor.

Let me just tell you, if you like be flexing all your romantic muscles on her, you’ll still come and meet me,don’t stay one place and focus!! be celebrating Valentine’s day with girls you cannot marry, be wasting resources you hear?!

Anyway, you see the way Lori Harvey’s boo rented out an aquarium and had rose petals all over with candle lights and champagne? No think am, I’m Nigerian and I don’t understand why love has to be that complicated! When you know the value of naira to dollar you’ll now spend that kind of money just to prove you love me?

Love for me babe is in the simple things and more than a one time extravaganza, I want to be consistently reminded that I’m loved. I want breakfast in bed when I ghost you for being insensitive, roses at my work place just before you pick me up for dinner, sticker notes by the bed side when you leave for work earlier, eavesdrop on your prayers and hear you asking God to help you love me, massage date at the spa just after a wedding decor, forehead kisses when I feel overwhelmed and more than anything I want you to take my hands into yours and pray peace upon the storm that’s making me restless,so help you God!!

I’m not a one time project and definitely not a trophy, I’m your primary assignment and if you know what chin-chin means in Igbo you’ll reserve your energy and double up.When you get here, you’ll explain what took you so long, I’m waiting for you!

Your Chin chin

♥️♥️

Peace

PEACE AMAUGO

Just a girl crazy in love with her maker! Everything I am and would be is all and only what Yahweh will’s