Happy Krishna Jayanthi

Ambal Balakrishnan
1 min readSep 4, 2015

--

Krishna Janmashtami, also known as Krishnashtami, Gokulashtami, Ashtami Rohini, Srikrishna Jayanti, Sree Jayanti or sometimes simply as Janmashtami, is an annual celebration of the birth of the Hindu deity Krishna.

In Tamil Nadu, women draw the footprints of Lord Krishna from the threshold of the house till the pooja room, which depicts the arrival of Lord Krishna into the house.

Given the maverik I am, I realized I don’t need to draw the footprints of Lord Krishna. I have two Lord Krishnas at home. I just need them to put their footprints on the threshold.

Aren’t traditions what we make out it?

M.S.’s beautiful rendering of Kurai Ondrum Illai is one of my favorite songs about Lord Krishna.

Originally published at Ambal’s Amusings.

--

--

Ambal Balakrishnan

#Marketing #Cloud #SaaS #AI #Data #ML #Digital #Data #Analytics #Author #Blogger #Wharton #Purdue #DogOwner #MountainClimber #Mom #TEDx #ViewsMyOwn