My Heart Hurts

Elaine Ambrose
2 min readJul 26, 2021

I appreciate this cartoon by theawkwardyeti.com because my brain keeps trying to make my heart function at full capacity, but it’s too weary. I’ve have been diagnosed with Non-Ischemic Cardiomyopathy heart disease exacerbated by Occipital Neuralgia migraine headaches with a nasty helping of Takotsubo Cardiomyopathy, literally a broken heart. According to Johns Hopkins Medicine, Broken Heart Syndrome can be life-threatening. In some cases, it can cause severe heart muscle weakness resulting in:

Congestive heart failure
Low blood pressure
Shock
Potentially life-threatening heart rhythm abnormalities

I appreciate modern medicine and the fine people at St. Luke’s Idaho Cardiology Associates. After my successful angiogram surgery last week, my cardiologist and I have devised a healthy, positive plan for my weak and damaged heart. I’m taking eight medications, eating a healthy diet, and doing light exercise. I’m finding humorous cartoons and articles about heart disease. I’ve always known laughter is the best medicine.

I also appreciate the many friends and family members who continue to offer prayers and encouragement, and I intend to return the favor with authentic compassion. I’ll be around for a few more years to irritate, amuse, and love all of them. Stress is not welcome in my heart or home, and certain people who continue to shun me can wallow in mud and eat worms.

For now, it’s one day at a time. Just give me a few more minutes…

--

--

Elaine Ambrose

Author, writing workshop leader, wife, mother, Tutu, world traveler, musician, lover of laughter