Sold Out! Why Ticketmaster Sucks

Andrew M King
3 min readApr 19, 2023
Photo by Dylan Mullins on Unsplash

Have you seen the price of concerts lately? Holy smokes!

Ticketmaster is singlehandedly making it so middle-class fans will either have to go to far fewer concerts or just not see live shows at all.

I am going to date myself a bit. I remember back when you had to either call Ticketmaster with your credit card in hand or go to one of the licensed Ticketmaster vendors to buy tickets with cash (for us, it was a grocery store called FOOD TOWN).

Remember folks camping out all night…or sometimes even days…to see their favorite acts for fear of the event selling out?!? Now scalper bots seize up hundreds and thousands of seats, only to turn around and sell them at astronomical prices. Ticketmaster doesn’t even have safeguards in place to protect fans from this. Instead, they encourage reselling ON THEIR SITE!

There is literally nothing stopping folks with money to buy a scalper bot and suck up the best seats. I know, because I’ve looked into it myself. Now, I don’t know that I would use a scalper bot for profit but rather to secure tickets for myself that I otherwise wouldn’t be able to get.

The problem is Ticketmaster has no competition. They are the be-all end-all site for event tickets.

At one point, you could go to a venue to get the tickets yourself without all…

--

--

Andrew M King

Writer. Husband. Father. Disabled Veteran. Living and learning each and every day! Top Writer May 2023 for Parenting topic!