Ted Talk that Prompted my QUESTION

Andy Bertelsen
2 min readOct 19, 2016

--

I was looking through the different videos of Ted Talks, and I saw a lot of very inspiring videos that engage a lot of different audiences. The talks that I was trying to locate were on the subject of: Lifestyle, immersion, work, and sustainability. When I was looking through videos on Ted.com I was just amazed how useful the video platform is when it comes to providing context and information on these different subjects. I will not lie, I did watch some other videos that I found interesting aside from the search I was on…

The Ted Talk that I watched was titled: Why we do what we do? by Tony Robbins. His big question is to answer the question why? What drives your actions and why do you do it? Robbins believes that the internal activate that transpires from our human emotions and that it is the force of life. He draws the line between self interest and emotion. By exploring where you are today and how you are so one can contribute more into the social sphere which creates appreciation from one human to the next, this is important because we live in a society embedded with technology that magnifies the difficulty of these issues.

What makes the difference in the quality of peoples lives, how does one find meaning and eventually strength through introspection and strength. How does one break free from a society that conditions and mechanizes to one that is open and loving. On the basis of human needs, identifying the science of achievement and art of fulfillment. Appreciation and contribution, because that is how art works. The big question that correlates with mine is: What is it that shapes us? Imagine if your beliefs will never get you where you want to go, that is why dominant emotions should be positive owns that derive from our emotions.

I really enjoyed this Ted Talk, this is by far one of the most interesting and penetrating talk I have seen and yet I am happy that is parallels my big question. This is important stuff that needs to be focused on because it is about the human condition, the human element that makes us who we are. And we cannot shy away from that but rather we need to express ourselves through whatever means necessary so we can understand and identify who we are and why we do what we do. The question WHY is at the root of everything that goes on. Why do you do what you do? That is what I want to know and understand when I am designing my own major about business, environmental studies, and sociology with an emphasis on sustainability. Why are we living the way we are, is there a discrepancy in our day to day emotions that makes us not understand a greater whole? Can we flip the paradigm?

Ted Talk link: https://www.ted.com/playlists/171/the_most_popular_talks_of_all

--

--

Andy Bertelsen

Interested in ceramics, gardening, photography, and the practice of applied anthropology/evaluation