Apple Watch depreciation sobriety

Andy Stannard
2 min readOct 3, 2016

--

I love gadgets and being from Yorkshire I love a bargain. But the price of a gadget is not as obvious as it might seem, you need to look at the depreciation value to see its true cost over time. That is why an iphone is much cheaper than it might look, if you sell it after a year you will have lost 18% of its value, this is much lower that android handsets, making the purchase a new phone cheaper when you offset the money you gained from selling the older phone.

The same is true of laptops, apple laptops retain lots of their original value. I have twice sold a laptop I bought second hand for more than the price I bought it for. Owning and using that laptop for a year cost me nothing!

The Apple Watch does not seem to be fairing so well. The new watchOS 3 seems a big improvement so I started to look at second hand prices on Ebay. The sports watch models average around £150. The stainless steel models with Milanese loop around £300, that’s a HUGE drop of £400 in one year!

I do like the Apple Watch and probably will buy a second hand one considering these price drops. I do wonder about the reason though? Maybe it is that early adopters bought the original and a massive surge of upgraders has flooded the market causing a price drop?

I will keep an eye on prices out of interest but the Watch seems a poor investment compared to the rest of the Apple catalogue of products.

--

--

Andy Stannard

Software Engineer, into kickboxing, rock climbing, mountain biking, working for inniAccounts