Having courage to try something new.

Anelia
3 min readApr 18, 2020

--

Another confession of one multi-passionate.

I believe we all have a story to share.

It is us who create it. Our stories are unique because our life experiences are unique. We create to see ourselves.

A desire to create takes courage. There is simply no one to blame when you take responsibility for your own creative process. In the long run, it can lead to more creativity unfolding beautifully with time.

I think my story truly started seven years ago when I decided I wanted to design my own life. I wanted to try at least.

Since I took the first steps, I could not stop.

I was lost in the maze of life offering me its abundant opportunities.

And it is a pleasure to look back at some of the stories now because earlier I simply didn’t have time. I was too busy experiencing a gift of life. Too busy discovering the unknown pieces of the puzzle.

Now I would love to reflect.

My photography: Chengdu Panda Research Center, China.

Six years ago I discovered what being curious was all about.

At that time I was teaching English in one of spiciest places on earth. Chengdu. Also known for its laid-back lifestyle. There is an old saying that says “young man/woman should not enter into the Chengdu area, because it will distract you with all kinds of entertainment, and the comfortable life there will destroy your willingness to achieve your dream”.

I was living a dream there! I remember that time with nostalgia. And, of course, cravings for hot pot happen to be once in a while.

I fell in love with this city for the following reasons. Pandas, food as you already know, tea parties, and an opportunity to see myself in an absolutely new light which was modelling.

I got my first paid modelling job at the age of 29! When the agent told me that I was chosen by the client I could not believe it! I was both happy and terrified.

It meant I had to pose in front of the camera for eight hours non stop to shoot a coat collection. And I had no idea HOW!

It all started with make-up. Like always. It is my least favourite part in this field. I find it very hard to sit still for two hours and let my face be beautified by makeup tools. I had to admit, that time I was in safe hands.

Make up was done. It was time to go and face the challenge. I knew uncoordinated poses were inevitable. I felt nervous. Just like I feel nervous before the very first class with new students or when I have to stand up and speak in front of people.

I wish I can remember the very first minutes of this hands-on experience when I put on the first outfit and was ready to face the camera, but I can’t. I guess they have been erased from my memory due to the clumsiness of my body postures.

Luckily, I started to feel relieved when the photographer decided to intervene after the first clicks of the shutter.

She was helpful and so kě’ài. Cute in English.

She helped me be present in my body for the first couple of hours. I gracefully coped with the rest.

If you think I did, or my story simply made you smile, tap a heart to support me.

It will help me smile more times today, too.

--

--

Anelia

I am creative, full of passion, and living in Bangkok. I love telling stories through teaching, modelling and designing events. http://www.iamanelia.com/