Clever Hack to get emails opened!

Ania Klaudia Kats
Marketing Hacks
Published in
3 min readApr 9, 2016

I’ve been doing email marketing for a few years now, and recently discovered a really cool trick. First let me tell you about my challenge: I felt confident that my mails were going to my receiver’s inboxes (and not their spam), since I was using MailChimp, and a private domain. So, the emails were getting inboxed, but clearly there was something keeping my audience from opening the mails.

Thinking about the emails I get and open vs. delete without opening, two things were obvious, and after testing out my “clever hack”, I noticed a nearly 300% increase in emails opened!

  1. The “From” field (area indicating who the email is from) needs to be relevant and recognizable to your audience. So, include your company name and what you do in this field. Whether you are cold emailing, or working on building your relationship with this audience — you will be more successful by personalizing the “From” for everyone on your team, putting the face to the email! (Ex. “Ben from Bodybuilding.com” instead of just “Bodybuilding.com”) This creates an emotional connection with your audience, and encourages them to open the email and respond or take action.
  1. Facebook introduced Reactions and GIFs, and Emoji’s have become the norm in everyone’s communication — be it social, messaging, or even business. Why is no one using them in e-mail? Including an emoji in your “title” and even “from” fields lets you appeal to your viewer’s emotions, as well as grab their attention as something unique and interesting.

Common question: How do I add emoji’s to my emails and title?

  1. Email a message with all the emojis on your mobile device to yourself.
  1. Open on your desktop.
  2. Copy all, and paste into a new document, save to desktop.
  3. Copy emojis from document into emails as needed.
  • Be careful when pasting 2 emoji’s next to each other : they must be touching (no spaces!), or the first one will turn into a box.

Result?

Follow me on Youtube Ania Klaudia Kats, Instagram @aniaklaudiakats, Facebook Ania Klaudia Kats, Twitter AniaKlaudiaKats, & LinkedIn Anna Kats.

--

--