Two Spirit

Anna B.
3 min readOct 28, 2021

“Two-Spirit” is a term used within some Indigenous communities, encompassing cultural, spiritual, sexual and gender identity. The term reflects complex Indigenous understandings of gender roles, spirituality, and the long history of sexual and gender diversity in Indigenous cultures.

The native Americans hit the nail on the head. Sometimes I think about how they call transgender people two spirit. Especially when I walk through a department store passed the women’s clothing department. My other spirit so badly wants to look for a cute outfit. I’m fully ware that I was born male. All trans women are. But that woman trapped inside loses her marbles when we can’t look at, or we feel uncomfortable looking through the women’s clothing department.

I’m always trying to go about my day without drama. But if my inner woman spirit wants something, or feels like getting dolled up, I have to do it or she will make me very depressed. Sometimes it feels like being trans, is being possessed by a spirit. My actions and my demeanor are female-like. The way I stand, sit, talk, think, and dress.

  • The SRY gene. The possible reason for being two spirit? The SRY gene provides instructions for making a protein called the sex-determining region Y protein. This protein is involved in male-typical sex development, which usually follows a certain pattern based on an individual’s chromosomes. People usually have 46 chromosomes in each cell. The SRY gene can slip off of the Y chromosome and attach itself to the X chromosome in males, and the body begins producing more…

--

--

Anna B.

I have gender dysphoria, and I’m doing the best I can with what I've got. Hope for the best! Fingers Crossed!!