Gratitude | Democracy

My Gratitude For Democracy

Anne Bellamy
2 min readJul 6, 2024
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

Not a member? I’ve got your back. Read this here.

On July 4th, 2024, the United Kingdom went to the polls in a general election.

I voted.

I always do.

Not only do I consider it a duty, but I also consider it a privilege.

And I am grateful for that.

There are those who came before me who fought and died for my right to vote. Not only those who fought back the threat of dictatorship, but those who came before me and campaigned tirelessly (some even giving their lives) for my right, as a woman, to vote.

Photo by Nationaal Archief on Unsplash

And I am incredibly grateful for them.

All of them.

I have never had to give so much for the gift of democracy.

In the United Kingdom, the transfer of power happens the morning after the election.

At approximately 11:00am, on the morning of July 5th, Rishi Sunak left 10 Downing Street for the last time. Though I’m no fan of his or his party, his farewell speech was full of grace, class and humility.

--

--

Anne Bellamy

Spirituality, Law of Attraction, Well-Being & Personal Development writer. If you'd like to buy me a coffee I'd greatly appreciate it! https://ko-fi.com/ambell