Why The Zoom H5 sucks while the Zoom H6 rocks

Antonio Kowatsch
4 min readNov 5, 2021

I had both of said audio recorders for a while now and I’ve tested both extensively. Both are great devices but after some time I started noticing the shortcomings of the Zoom H5. I owned two H5s and one H6 and since I’m currently in the process of downsizing my equipment I only kept the H6. At first glance the recorders are eerily similar. A lot of guys on Youtube claim that the differences are merely superficial but that’s simply not true.
I know, because I tested them in the real world. For real world uses. And the main reasons why the H6 is superior are subtle but yet also important.
The main reason why I kept my H6 and sold my H5s was the boot up time. Back when I was using the H5 on a daily basis (due to it’s smaller form factor) I had a couple of incidents when I needed to quickly turn the device on to record something and by the time it booted up I missed the opportunity to capture said sounds. That’s pretty much the worst case scenario. And since it kept happening it got me thinking…

Boot Up Time

I subsequently bought the H6 because I heard somewhere that the boot up time of the H6 is significantly lower than on the H5. I wasn’t sure if those rumors were true but I was willing to find out if they were. And after some tests I realized that the rumors were indeed true. The…

--

--