The Beginner’s Guide to Facebook Privacy
The privacy settings on Facebook have constantly been changing. When you post a picture of your family, your Facebook friends can share it. What information are the game apps on Facebook collecting for third-party use. How can you make sure that live stream videos are only seen by your friends? Luckily, due to high demands by Facebook users and government regulators around the world, Facebook has made managing your privacy easier.
When posting a photo or updating a status, you can choose who you want to see your post. This tool will remember what audience you shared your previous post to and will use the same audience unless you change it. This tool is also seen in your privacy shortcuts and privacy settings. You are also able to change the setting for posts that have already been shared. When you post something into another person’s timeline, they have control over who can see it. Also, anyone that gets tagged in a post can see it, in addition to their friends.
Only you and your friends can post on your timeline. When posting something, you can control who can see it by using the audience selector. To make sure that only your friends are seeing the post, go to the “Who can see things on my timeline” within the “Timeline and Tagging” section and then change the settings for “Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in on your Timeline” and “Who can see what others post on your timeline?” from “Public” to “Friends”. If you don’t want your friends to view your profile as well, change the settings to “Only Me” or click “Custom” to exclude individual people from seeing your posts.
To edit what people can see on your profile like places you lived in, family members and relationships you had, click the “About” under the cover photo and then click “Edit” for the information you want to change. Choose who can see your information by changing the audience section. This way, your friends can wish out on your birthday without knowing exactly how old you are and strangers won’t know who you are in a relationship with.
Who can add me?
Facebook allows you to control who can send you a friend request. Go to the “Settings” section and click the “Privacy” tab, on the left column. Click “Edit” next to “Who can send you friend requests?” and choose your preference.
Ever been tagged into a picture by a person you don’t even know and had to manually untag yourself from these pictures? This is how you can prevent this from happening. Click on “Timeline and Tagging”, which is under the “Privacy” tab on the left. Set the “Who can add things to my timeline?”, “Who can see things on my timeline?” and “How can I manage tags people add and tagging suggestions?” to “Friends”. If you can, change the “Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded?” to “No One”. This way, you can limit who can tag you in a picture and who can see the pictures that you are being tagged in.
It is important to change your privacy settings to control your privacy online. For further detailed regarding privacy instructions and how to solve them, check Facebook’s Help Center.