5 Anticipated Albums of 2018

The Appreciation Enthusiast
4 min readJan 28, 2018

--

With the first month of 2018 almost over I decided it was time to list my most anticipated albums of this year. While not all are confirmed nor necessarily set for 2018, I am looking forward to these projects regardless.

5. The Life of Desiigner

In 2016 I thought that Desiigner was one of the greatest things to happen to music this decade, and I stand by that statement even to this day. Desiigner has made some of my favorite songs such as “Tiimmy Turner”, “Outlet”, “Holy Ghost”, and “Overnight” and I cannot wait to see the album that accompanies some of these fantastic tracks. With numerous delays, The Life of Desiigner should be expected to drop soon, and when it does I can guarantee you I will be playing it nonstop.

4. Frank Ocean Album

With Blonde and Endless coming out in 2016, multiple singles in 2017, and a promise made by Frank Ocean himself; a new album is almost guaranteed. It’s time to prepare the tissues and brace for a new Frank Ocean album in 2018. With Blonde being a worthy successor to Channel Orange, this new album has a monumental bar to raise to surpass Blonde but I firmly believe Frank Ocean can be the only person to outdo Frank Ocean. It’s about time for Frank Ocean season, and I for one cannot wait to hear what he has to put out.

3. King Push

Pusha T was supposed to release King Push in 2017, however, due to what can only be considered as a need for more time, probably due to Kanye West nearly solely producing the album. With a strong work ethic and a desire for success, a delay from a Kanye West-related project can be expected, however, this doesn’t change my excitement for a new Pusha T album. With Pusha T being one of the most talented members of G.O.O.D Music, and a great release in 2015 with King Push — Darkest Before Dawn: The Prelude along with major assistance from Kanye West I can see King Push surpassing all of my expectations in 2018.

2. AstroWorld

With Rodeo being one of my favorite albums of all time I am excited to see AstroWorld come out in 2018. With a stellar verse about the album on Trippie Redd’s “Dark Knight Dummo,” it’s safe to assume Travis Scott plans on releasing AstroWorld relatively soon. Travis Scott’s latest project Huncho Jack with Quavo left me feeling quite disappointed in the repetitiveness and lack of creativity from two of the most current creative rappers in the industry. I truly hope Travis Scott can deliver yet another classic with AstroWorld in 2018.

1. Everybody Wins

I love Kid Cudi and I love Kanye West and if this really is a collaborative album, I wouldn’t know what to do with myself. Kid Cudi and Kanye West are my #1 and #2 favorite musicians of all time respectively, so having a collaborative project is undoubtedly a dream of mine. Collaborative albums were a huge hit in 2017 so it’s easy to see Kanye West attempt to join in on the hype. With pictures, insider information, and the creation of a new Soundcloud account; Everybody Wins must be coming out sometime soon. With crossed fingers, this project will come out in 2018 and obviously make it into my top three albums of the year.

--

--