Dearly Beloved,

Arome
4 min readFeb 7, 2018

--

I’m publishing an article, every Wednesday. It’s a work-out plan, to keep my mind sharp, and read more. Afterall, only a filled jar can fill cups. It’s an agreement I have, with a few friends. I don’t know why I agreed to this. I constantly hear a clock, ticking. And everyday seems like a Tuesday.

This is my third article, this year. I'm trying to apply the right amount of pressure, on myself: not to overthink and overanalyze everything, but, enough to keep me hungry to push more. What to write about? Will it be good? Do I know enough to write? - not doing that. At least, I'm not letting that cripple me. The thoughts do come. They even came a few minutes ago, but typing thumbs are mightier than fear.

I remember the words of Diego, on our last live webinar of the sports marketing course. He said we should write articles, and shouldn't be scared about it. Just write and you'll get better. My closest friends have been encouraging. Some, threatening. I won't mention names, but if you're reading this and thinking Is he talking about me?, I'm probably talking about you.

Work wise, this year started last year. I don't know how to explain that, but I'm sure you can relate. We started so much before the year ended, and couldn't wait for the break to be over, so we could resume, and see those things materialize. Waiting for anything is an important lesson. What do you do, while you wait?

I've learned patience, these last few years. Keeping a healthy attitude within the waiting. The world around you, will get noisy and chaotic, but staying patient and calm will keep you focused. It gives this assurance: that, as long as you stay working diligently, on a path that aligns with your being, you will achieve great things.

Confidence. Without It, we can't be our true selves. We all are on that journey, to live our best lives. To love what we love. To be free. And, what a journey it's turning out to be. It requires a lot of tearing down. Walls of fear and insecurity, doubts, old thinking and pride, need to go. I need to believe in, and create the things I've seen in visions. They need to come to life. We need to confidently speak about them, no matter how ridiculous they sound.

People will doubt your ideas, sanity and ability. You'll even doubt yourself, sometimes. Confidence in yourself will keep these doubts away. These people aren't always enemies. We even share blood with some. It’s just the way humans are wired - they'd rather see it, first, then believe. You have to be different. Believe first.

There are no coincidences in life. I became more conscious of everything around me, and started seeing big things, hidden in the little ones. There are little arrows, pointing us in the right direction, everyday. We find these in the people we meet, disappointments, rejection, running into an old friend who 'coincidentally' knows the contact you're trying to reach, or stumbling on a piece of useful information, while searching for a good song on the radio. Be more conscious of the little things.

I started a t shirt label, years ago, and it collapsed. Technical difficulties. I sound like an airline. The lessons learned are priceless, and it brought me to a better place. I walked into the world of sports marketing, in that same time. It had always been interesting to me. While friends argued about better players, teams and formation, I was focused on Nike jersey deals, colors and lovely stadia.

I started reading a lot, and studied a course on sports marketing and management. It's a perfect match with my first failed marriage - tees. I'd have to write a book on the things that have happened, in between that time, and this very minute. And I probably will, someday. For now, there's a lot to come, and I'm really excited about the future.

Dearly beloved, we are gathered here, today, to get through this thing called life. I'm taking bolder steps, living how God created me to live - limitless, happy, creative, and infusing lyrics of dead musicians in my article.

In the real sense of it, we are all writing. Our actions are our words. Our lives are our stories. Keep writing, no matter what, and live your best life, creating magic.
See you next Wednesday.

--

--

Arome

Design and innovation. Sports Marketing. Alumnus of School of Media & Communication (SMC), Pan Atlantic University; & Sports Business Institute (SBI) Barcelona