I’ve Been Incarcerated For 17 Years, Eight Months And Seven Days.

This is what it’s like to get a mandatory minimum sentence.

Arnold Cabarris
6 min readMar 1, 2016

Imagine waking up every morning of the year in prison, sentenced to a Mandatory Minimum, a Guideline Sentence, or even a life sentence for a non-violent drug charge. These types of sentences are being handed out daily throughout the U.S. federal and state courts without any remorse. Who in the world could consistently do such a thing? How could Congress, The Sentencing Commission, and The Supreme Court or any law official agree with such laws? Year after year, these laws are being talked about, with Sentencing Reform, but injustices are still in place: racially biased mandatory minimums, 18 to 1 sentencing drug ratios, and good time that’s owed to every federal inmate. Lawmakers continue to cause pain and misery to thousands of inmates and our families.

My name is Arnold Cabarris and I am 43 years old. I was sentenced to 262 months (more than 21 years) for distribution of cocaine base, and conspiracy to distribute 24.7 grams of cocaine base. I didn’t have a mandatory minimum — what I have is a little worst than that: I was sentenced as a career offender which is a guideline sentence. Thousands of inmates are under the pressure of these type of unjust and outdated penalties.

I was born in Indianapolis, but grew up in Fredericksburg, Virginia. I grew up poor and even though my mother raised me right, we struggled to make ends meet. My neighborhood was drug infested, full of violence and foolishness. And when I was young, I thought the only job available to me was drug dealing. I needed to support myself and my family, and the streets were my only option. I tried to work a 9 to 5 job, but it wasn’t paying the bills — and I was fascinated by the money I watched others make on the streets. When I turned into a drug dealer, it got in my blood in such a way… it was all I knew and breathed.

I believe I could’ve changed if someone gave me an opportunity to do so. But when I got released the first time, after spending three years in prison, no one would hire me because of my record. And I ended up doing the exact same thing I did before — drug dealing. If I was given the chance to make it with a clean slate, I could’ve changed my life for the better.

I do think drug dealers should go to prison. But I don’t believe they should get 10 years to life for selling 5 grams or more, when no one was killed. I’ve met people in prison who’ve killed people in cold blood and they do way less time than me. I’ve seen rapists locked up on multiple charges and get way less time than drug dealers… The system is just so messed up and unjust…

Instead of life prison sentences, I believe that nonviolent drug dealers should get probation and fines. If they get caught after that process, then there should be some punishment. But the better solution for drug dealers has to be putting them in programs that help them get better. We have to help them deal with the root of the problem, and get them a job lined up after they are released. Right now, the system locks us up for twenty something years and doesn’t properly equip us to make it in the real world when we get out.

It takes the proper training, schooling, religious programs and incentives to rehabilitate an individual who has committed a crime. The problem is that not everyone can benefit from the programs in here. Why? If you have any type of gun, violence, detainer, or your sentence isn’t at the end, you can’t participate in the L.C.P programs, Drug programs, or certain certification programs. Only a certain amount of inmates can get in the programs at one time, the rest of us are left out on a regular basis. Rehabilitation should be available for every inmate and the proper programs must be in place to have every participant prepared to reenter society.

L.C.P and The Drug Programs aren’t actually geared to really give inmates a good fighting chance outside of these prison walls. College courses have been taken away. Re-entry programs are for only a select few. There needs to be some serious changes to the programs available for inmates. We need programs that are geared to help us get jobs that pay good money. These programs should be connected to businesses on the outside that are funded by the state and federal governments to hire inmates when they are released. This will compel inmates to be successful when they are returning to society. My question to all lawmakers, is this: do you really desire rehabilitation for prisoners?

Here’s my proposal for a better solution:

So many women and men have been incarcerated for crimes that could have been avoided. Yes, better choices could have been made by all of us. But I also believe a better solution than a prison sentence could have been in place. Over the past 20 years lawmakers, federal agents, state police officers and drug task forces all over the United States have been arresting people because of the War on Drugs. This was tactic to imprison a particular race. These laws put major level drug dealers and low level dealers on the same level in the eyes of the law. These Draconian sentences are beyond outdated. If lawmakers would establish a clear evaluation of each drug charge, from the point of arrest to conviction, there could definitely be a better solution:

1) The first thing that has to happen is that each drug charge has to be examined by itself — not what was done in the past, not what someone said, just the charge.

2) The weight of the drugs in the charge should determining how large or small the fine or probation period, rather than dictating the prison sentence. (Also, some type of mandatory therapy program should be necessary to complete your probation.)

3) Then there should be a proper individual evaluation to help the person get the kind of help they need to be a better citizen.

4) During the evaluation a job placement should be made. The proper training and schooling should be made available, so that the individual has better chance of finding work and making money legally.

5) Government and state officials should use grants to provide businesses with finances to hire individuals with drug charges.

These solutions help the person rather than punish them. They give the individual the proper tools to handle the world. They save taxes payers money and keep families together.

After being locked away so very long, my heart is in a place of clear loving focus. I could never forget what I’ve been through from start to finish. I plan to prove to myself, my family, my wife and to the world that a man who has made a mistake can take that same mistake and pole vault himself to a place of victory.

I was granted Clemency from President Barack Obama on December 18th, 2015 at 1:00 p.m., and I am so thankful. I will get out 19 months earlier than I thought I would. Yes!

I will use my my certification in Landscape to get me a job and will then start my own business. I will surround myself with people who are trying to see me as successful — those who will endorse my ideals and point me in the right direction so that my plan will be brought to manifestation. I plan to join organizations that are proactive in helping and informing the world of the issues of laws, prisons and the legal system. I also plan to publish my four books I’ve written and shop my movie scripts around. And I created a web page for inmates to communicate with family and friends and have a voice concerning the present issues at hand.

I want to express how many convicted prisoners of drug crimes are being discriminated against. Many years ago, around 2001–2003, our case manager announced that there would be an update on a change in policy. He informed us of a new law that was passed and made retroactive to anyone with that specific drug charge. But it didn’t apply to me…. It affected several people, but none of them look anything like me. Since that day I prayed, wondered if this same justice would come to people like me, but it never happened. It’s a double standard. Every time a drug law is passed it’s always some type of stipulation; the law is never made retroactive for everyone.

These Draconian Laws are overdue for change. To all the lawmakers who actually are trying to change the laws and system to make them fair across the board, I applaud your efforts.

--

--