Jagriti Yatra: The Process, Planning and Preparation

Aru Mangla
4 min readJan 13, 2018

--

Yatra Aarambh!

Namaste!
Today, I’ll talk about my experience and my journey till start of Jagriti Yatra 2017 (hereafter, referred to as JY).
I’m writing this before the start of JY. I’m excited a lot since this will be my first pan India Yatra and that too with the upcoming change-makers of India.

You will find several posts/blogs on experience of the Yatra itself (I have read almost all of them), but I thought Pre-JY journey is also worth sharing. This article may assist you in cracking JY selection, organising your fundraising activity and planning for the one-of-its-kind Yatra.

I am Aru Mangla, and I am the Co-founder of ReneYou Greentech Pvt Ltd, which is an impact venture in rural green technology field. I’m also a 3rd Year Management Student at SSCBS, University of Delhi. For more details about my professional background, visit bit.ly/AruMangla .

ABC of Jagriti Yatra
Jagriti Yatra is a 15-day long, national train journey that covers 8000 kilometers across the length and breadth of India. Every year, it takes 500 highly motivated youngsters (with some participation of international students), selected from thousands of applicants, to meet inspiring role models of India who are finding solutions to the challenges through their entrepreneurial activities.The aim is to awaken the spirit of entrepreneurship (both social and economic) within India’s youth.

For further information, refer to Jagritiyatra.com

I came to know about JY when a senior in my college, Durgesh Rawat, got selected for JY 2016–17. I accessed more information about Jagriti Yatra and then I said to myself, “You’re made for this”, since I am involved in impact entrepreneurship space and am just fascinated by the opportunities lying in rural areas of our country.

How to crack JY selection procedure?
If you’re about to apply, and wondering how can you succeed in the first attempt, there’s a
short answer to it. JUST BE TRUE TO YOURSELF. Just be honest with your answers and yourself.

JY application form has questions which need essay type answers. I completed the form with 3 months delay, but filled it with full integrity and details.

How to raise funds for JY?
There are three sponsorship levels for selected candidates. I got level 2 and hence, had to pay ₹40,000 for the Yatra. The scholarship level is determined by the Selection Team on the basis of candidate’s financial background and experience of working in the impact area. Being a college student and also coming from a not-so-strong financial background, I was not able to arrange all the amount on my own, and therefore I resorted to crowdfunding for arranging the application money. I spread the word among my friends, relatives, teachers, acquaintances, etc. I also resorted to a crowdfunding site, i.e. ketto.org, (don’t forget to compare their reach, commission, charges, etc. when you choose yours), alumni groups of JY on social media sites and crowdfunding groups.
There are other (legal) ways as well to earn money to fund your Yatra yourself (No, it’s not cryptocurrencies). I referred to this awesome video and you will
see how easy earning money is (though for short period, as it starts getting boring after sometime, and you know we entrepreneurs like fun).

One more unique way to earn money is to do a business (congratulations for your new startup!, even before JY). I’ll tell you my instance. This was the peak period of air pollution in my city, Delhi. So, I arranged the distribution of respiratory masks in my college and around my home and thus provided a solution which was urgently required at that time and hence created an opportunity for myself.

Similarly, you can find a need around you and create a business opportunity around it. Few quick examples are organising a trip for a group of people, organising a relevant conference/talk, etc. After all entrepreneurship is all about seeing the opportunity and grabbing it.

How to prepare for Yatra?
“Congratulations! You’ve been selected, and you’re a confirmed ‘Yatri’ now.”

Receiving such a mail is altogether a different feeling in itself, a feeling of achievement, a feeling of self-belief.

To make the fullest out of this once-in-a-lifetime experience, I prepared and planned. First things first, I deliberated and decided my objectives of going on this Yatra. Answer the Why. What do you want to achieve from this experience? For me they are, diving deeper within my own self, get a network for my venture, explore India, etc.
Yatra will be fun because there will be like minded people on board. What’s better if you get to know and meet such people even before the Yatra. I created communities of my batch’s Yatris. We planned meet-ups, listened others’ stories, shared ours. Plan with them for the Yatra.

And lastly, I’d say BE AN ENTREPRENEUR, OPTIMISE YOUR YATRA, MAXIMIZE THE RETURNS
And Build India through Enterprise.

PS: I’ll definitely write about my Yatra experience and learning. Do tell if you want me to
focus on some particular aspect.

Follow me on Medium and LinkedIn for more articles on Jagriti Yatra and topics like energy, sustainability, rural markets, etc.

--

--