Kim Petras-Slut Pop review

Ash Likes Music
2 min readJun 13, 2024

--

“T̶h̶i̶s̶ i̶s̶ s̶l̶u̶t̶ p̶o̶p̶, w̶h̶i̶p̶ y̶o̶u̶r̶ d̶i̶c̶k̶ o̶u̶t̶”- Now Kim, stop that, this isn’t the right platform for that sort of action…sorry bout that folks.

Does this rather *ahem* explicit EP reinvent the wheel when it comes to electro/dance pop? Not in the slightest. Is this EP incredibly generic and clichéd in its production? Oh absolutely. Does it have some sort of deeper meaning or overarching profound narrative? It’s called slut pop; what the hell do you think lmao. Is it sold entirely on being an extremely gimmicky work? Most definitely. Is it proper cringe, trashy, perhaps a little distasteful to some and all around limited in its general appeal? The most unquestionable yes to this point. Can it honestly be described as kinda shit? My brain answering that question reasonably can only muster a sigh, an eye roll and a resounding mhm.

But here’s the thing…

It’s really fun to listen to anyway, whenever I listen I can’t help but crack a smile, maybe a chuckle at the insanity of it all, a difficult reaction to avoid eliciting I’d argue, with a piece of art so flippant in its graphic sexual nature it’s not hard to consider it an entirely unserious work; almost stunt like really. It may seem stupid but I can’t help but admire the sheer brassiness of a trans woman in contemporary society being so open and carefree about her sexuality and its enduring desires, destigmatising and reclaiming it in due part, I could only hope for such confidence honestly.

I do think this EP should be given a try, something so *ahem* lively shall we say, should be given some time of day even if only for ironic enjoyment. It may also sound weird but in a small way I think this EP is worth celebrating, certainly as a queer person who is trying to personally progress to a less restricted expression of my queerness I feel it’s worthy of it.

Overall rating: 69/10 ;)

Makes me feel hot, horny and incredibly gay!

--

--

Ash Likes Music

I'm Ash, I like music, fascinating I know. If you wanna peep what I'm listening to: https://www.last.fm/user/Ash_Lily