Fueling for the Game

Almond
4 min readJun 16, 2015

Cracking FIFA Women’s World Cup Nutrition with Almond

By Ingrid Wells

In celebration and support of the 2015 WWC, Almond will be featuring some pre and post workout snacks inspired by the U.S. Women’s National Team over the next few weeks.

After losing a tight match to Japan in the finals of the last Women’s World Cup in 2011, American soccer players and fans have been anxiously awaiting a shot at revenge. Finally, the wait is over! Throughout the month of June and running into the first week of July, the top female soccer players from around the world are competing with their prospective nations for the title of the Women’s World Cup. Seeing as this prestigious tournament of high intensity 90 minute games takes place once every four years, a great deal of player preparation on and off the soccer field is required.

We caught up with professional soccer player, Ingrid Wells, to get her pre-game routine.

What’s your routine to fuel for games?

I have seen first hand the effects nutrition can have on performance and have thus formed routines that best prepare and restore my body.

Before a training session or game, I like to make sure I have a well-balanced meal that will keep me satisfied without being too much or upsetting my stomach. Of course, everyone has different methods of preparation that work best for them, but overnight-oats is my staple!

Ingrid played professionally in Sweden, the U.S. and Germany. She represented the U.S. Women’s Under 20 and 23 National Soccer Teams.

My variation of overnight-oats provides me with the a strong energy base for my exercise while being packed with healthy ingredients. I usually consume overnight-oats in the morning, but there have been plenty of times I’ve eaten them before night games, so feel free to try them out anytime of day!

Ingredient breakdown:

I never get sick of overnight-oats as you can constantly mix up the ingredients you choose to include. With that being said, I am a creature of habit and have a favorite combination I typically use which is shared below!

  • Banana: As a high source of potassium, bananas help my body fight off muscle cramps during performance. I also find that bananas in particular, fill me up more than other fruit options.
  • Berries: I love eating berries in the morning! I may even go as far as saying they are a personal must have. They provide antioxidants and are also believed to help with inflammation and muscle repair.
  • Pomegranate seeds: Once again these are other little gems that I make a routine out of eating, full of antioxidants and are thought to help with cholesterol and blood pressure levels.
  • Oats: These complex-carbohydrates are considered one of the healthiest food sources acting as a great fiber source to fill you up and curb LDL cholesterol.
  • Plain Greek Yogurt: Greek yogurt is a great protein source, and I like to opt for plain to allow for the flavors and sugars of my fruit choices be center stage.
  • Nut or Seed Topping: A last minute addition of nuts or seeds adds a bit more protein, some healthy fat and crunch to your bowl!

Preparation:

Remember that the oats will be in your fridge overnight (hence the name), so prepare in tupperware or a bowl that can be sealed in the fridge!

  1. Slice a banana and throw a handful of blueberries into the bottom of your container.
  2. Scoop 2–3 tablespoons of plain Greek yogurt on top of the banana and berries.
  3. Pour in ½ cup steel cut oats.
  4. Sprinkle in pomegranate seeds.
  5. Add a few splashes of almond milk.
  6. Stir ingredients.
  7. Add a layer on top of diced strawberries, blackberries, or raspberries. (When I have access/ the season allows for it I like to include all three!)
  8. Seal lid and place in refrigerator overnight.
  9. Remove container in the morning and before enjoying, I like to add some shaved almonds or seed assortment (such as Chia or flax seeds).
  10. Enjoy!

If you don’t have the time or find the overnight oats a bit too dense before your workout, don’t fret, here is another option! Try slicing up an apple or banana and mix in with a yogurt of your choice. Finish off, with a handful of almonds!

Test out overnight oats before your next workout and catch Team USA play this afternoon against Nigeria!

Want more nutrition ideas tailored to your needs? Talk to your own personal dietitian on Almond via 1-on-1 video consultations. Anywhere, anytime.

--

--

Almond

Online nutrition coaching from top dietitians. Personalized nutrition plans and tailored advice through 1:1 video consultations.