L.E. Ataire
8 min readNov 2, 2017

--

GOD ATE THE DINOSAURS — PART 3

<< previous

“Look out for the shell.” Marline’s arm pointed between the front seats.

Too late. A body swept onto the hood. I swerved further onto the lawn as the robed man rolled up the windshield and off the roof with a thud. In the rear-view his rear-end was in full view, dressing gown up over his head exposing his tighty whites and a Sailor Moon tramp stamp.

I cut the wheel hard back toward the road, taking out the next house’s mailbox. I’d opted for back roads, but the sharp turns and random pile ups made it difficult to navigate The booze MacGregor had been feeding me all day didn’t help.

The ol’ wild man hadn’t spoken much. Not that I could blame him. Barnes was dead, and all because of my stupid idea. MacGregor was probably asking himself why he didn’t just leave me where they’d found me. I gripped the wheel tight and pressed the accelerator. This plan had better work.

The bay glistened to my right.

“Not far now,” I said, more to break the silence than anything else. They all knew where the beach was.

Sylvie leaned over her seat toward the back. “What’s the app say?”

A minivan sat stationary in the road by a driveway. I skirted onto some grass to pass it, my ears eager for Marline’s response.

--

--

L.E. Ataire

Faller-downer of Rabbit Holes. 🐇 Historian, Folklorist, Seelie Court Jester. I write speculative fiction. https://www.ataire.io