29th February : That Extra Day Every Four Years

Ever wondered why it only occurs every four years?

Auctor
7 min readFeb 12, 2024
Feb 29th on a calender [credit: Pixabay]

Actually there’s a correction needed here because that is not true.

February 29th does not appear like clockwork EVERY four years. (Keep reading to the end, where I’ll tell you why and if you already know why, it may be an interesting reminder😉.)

So, you’ve clicked to read what I have to say about this unique day and I think it will be worth it.

Here’s some interesting info that I found during my research on this day and want to share...

UNDERSTANDING THE GREGORIAN CALENDAR

I acknowledge that there are other recognised calenders such as the Islamic, Hebrew, Chinese, and Hindu calendars, however this Medium article is focused on the Gregorian calendar.

The Gregorian calendar is a solar calendar that adjusts to keep our calendar years more closely aligned with the actual time it takes for the Earth to orbit the Sun.

WHAT IS THE CONNECTION WITH THE DATE FEBRUARY 29TH AND THE SUN?

Well, measurements show that the time it takes for the Earth to complete one orbit around the Sun, according to the Gregorian calendar, is approximately 365.2425 days. NOTE: For ease of explaining, look on this approximation as 365.25 days.

Can you see the important part that .25 day plays?

Yup!

.25 + .25 + .25 + .25 = 1day

Seeing that the Gregorian calendar takes this orbit into account, by adding an extra day to the calendar every four years, a.k.a. a leap year, it gives us a more accurate timely calendar.

WHEN WAS THE GREGORIAN CALENDAR OFFICIALLY RECOGNISED?

It was commissioned and introduced in October 1582 by Pope Gregory XIII, replacing the predecessor Julian calendar.

Pope Gregory XIII (7Jan1502 to 10Apr1585) | Credit: Wikipedia

Whenever you see February 29th , what’s your thoughts about that date?

For me, that date on a calendar can definitely spark a conversation. Whenever I see or hear it mentioned, the first thing I think is: “I wonder who’s birthday is it today?”

And when that date arrives, I can be in a shop, at a bus stop or awaiting in a reception area, I’ve noticed that that date always starts off an engaging conversation; with varying degrees of input and opinions. (These stories can be for another day!)

As you know, this day is also known as a Leap Year.

DID YOU KNOW THAT A PERSON BORN ON FEBRUARY 29 IS CALLED A “LEAPLING”?

If you are looking for a conversation starter or some titbits for this extra February day, these births and deaths that occurred on this day, can assist you with that.

BEING BORN ON FEBRUARY 29TH

Usually this special date, can’t be denied every 4years (I say usually because not every 4th year in the Gregorian calendar is a leap year — more on this later in this Medium article) and so those born on this day, can’t officially celebrate their birthday for three years and so have to do so on February 28 and/or March 1.

I assume they stay awake between February 28 (23:59hrs) to March 1 (00:00hrs) to get a “Happy Birthday”. Could be wrong but nothing wrong with assuming here is there?

There’s even some mum’s that give birth on their birthdays, which gives cause for a double celebration — similar to twins birthday celebrations!

So it got me thinking, are there twins born on this day?

During my research, I discovered that there ARE siblings born on the 29th February!

Now if you’re thinking I’m talking about twins born on February 29th,

Err…

No

So I must have discovered there’s triplets born on this unique day then?

Err..

Nope

That’s right, you read correctly!

I’m not talking triplets born on this day.

Let me digress a moment please.

Did you know that a mother in UK named Donna Carter, at 34years conceived naturally and gave birth to identical triplet boys? Their births were after she had been told 10 years previously that she would never have children.

Never say never eh?

Anyways…

What I’m talking about is my discovery there are siblings who were all born on February 29th — with 4 years between them!

Crikey!

Yes! You’ve read that sentence correctly.

They were born 4 years apart on February 29th!!

Wowza!!!

Who are these siblings?

Well their mum is called Louise Estes from the USA and on

Feb 29, 2004, her son Xavier was born

then on

Feb 29, 2008 her son Remington was born

and on

Feb 29 2012, her daughter Jade was born

Credit: Pixabay [Pete Linforth]

Interesting eh?

Are these births a world record?

I thought they would be.

Are you thinking the same? That the Estes are the only ones with siblings born on the same day — 4 years apart?

Well, nope!

The Henriksen family from Norway held this world feat first!

WOW!

I discovered that Karin Henriksen gave birth to:

her daughter Heidi on Feb 29th 1960
then
her son Olav arrived on Feb 29th 1964
and
another son named Leif-Martin on Feb 29th 1968.

Whoa!

Now what are the odds of giving birth on the 29 Feb — three times — and not being the only mum to do so?

BUT even more so…

…what are the odds of giving birth to the same genders in both families?

Amazing | Credit: Pixabay

Also, did you notice that Mrs Henriksen gave birth to two boys and one girl

AND

Mrs Estes gave birth to two boys and one girl too?!

These births and similarities are definite conservations starters whether it is a leap year or not me thinks!

If you’d like to read what I discovered on Feb 29th birthdays peeps who are ‘famous’ one way or the other (not all good ‘fame’ either I add), then check out this Medium article on that topic found here.

Moving on…

Did you know that February 30th occurred officially — TWICE?

Yes!

It’s a fact.

This date was included in the Soviet Union’s calender and Sweden’s in these years.
~ February 30th, 1712 for Sweden
~ February 30th, 1930 for Soviet Union

I found that interesting when I discovered that fact.

Did you know that February 30th even existed officially? It was definitely interesting to say the least when I discovered it did.

I haven’t forgotton that,

I was going to tell you later why this day does not occur every four years and will do so now.

SO WHY IS THIS?

First things first.

A small recap:

Leap Years are necessary to correct the small discrepancy between the Gregorian calendar year and an astronomical year. (As you read above). Do you recall above where I spoke about the Earth taking about 365.2425 days to orbit the Sun and the Gregorian calendar averages the year to 365.25 days?

So aligning the Gregorian calendar with the natural cycles of the Earth’s orbit around the Sun, helps maintain the synchronization that we know today.

However,

without this correction, the Gregorian calendar would slowly drift out of sync with the astronomical seasons.

Huh?

Confused?

How can this be? If adding an extra day every four years is to synhcronize, how can it drift out of sync?

I know, I know! This discovery made me even more confused too.

So more digging online, I found that, the answer to the question is:

Adding an extra day every four years makes the calendar a bit too fast because the Earth doesn’t orbit the sun in exactly 365.25 days.

If the February adjustment was every four years, these extra days add up.

And by adding a full extra day every four years, the Gregorian calendar will advance too quickly compared to the actual time it takes for the Earth to orbit the Sun.

To fix this, there is a recognised rules to keep the Gregorian calendar more in line with the actual time it takes for the Earth to orbit the sun.

What are the Leap Year adjustment rules?

Any year that can be divided by 100,

BUT (here’s the crucial bit)

not by 400, do not contain a leap day adjustment.

Even more confused?

So was I until, I saw for myself.

If you look at the Gregorian calendar years 1700, 1800, and 1900, you’ll see that they did not contain a leap day and yet the years 1600 and 2000 does.

And, going forward, you’ll see that the years 2100, 2200, and 2300 will not contain a leap day neither will 2400.

And the reason?

To stop the earth moving faster than the Sun. (Hmmmm…)

Useless facts?

Does this trivia fact really matter though, unless you know you’ll be around to see those future years come and go?

BtW: That was a rhetorical question🧐

Either way, I think I kept my promise and answered the question: “why February 29th does not appear like clockwork EVERY four years”

Honestly?

Still all above my head however, you may be the reader who likes to read scientific stuff. Which is all good!

Anyways, now you know the reason for the Gregorian calendar discrepancies — no matter what year is or is not February 29th eh?

I’ll end with this,

DO YOU KNOW SOMEONE WHO HAS A BIRTHDAY ON 29TH FEB?
~ Yes
~ No

29 February birthday cake celebrations | Credit: Pixabay RosZie

PS: If 29th Feb is your birthday, then have a brilliant time this Leap Year and make sure that you enjoy your celebrations from 00:00 to 23:59hrs 😃

PPS: Remember to check out my other write ups on the date February 29th. Check my Medium stories. They are there!

Laters…

February 29th birthday mugs

--

--

Auctor

My goal here is that, when you click the exit button, you're leaving with more knowledge on the topic. Have I succeeded?