Renewing your mind daily

Authentic Word✨
5 min readSep 4, 2016

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is — his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2

Your mind affects your walk with God. Let me say it again!!!The way you think has a MAJOR INFLUENCE on your journey with Christ. You need to change the way you think, in form and in nature in order for you to renew your mind. Feed you mind and soul with the word of God. For the word of God brings us into spiritual life and sustains us in that life when our hearts grow cold. Our minds are too easily filled with thoughts of hatred, sorrow and anger. But God’s mind is filled with LOVE, JOY and PEACE.

We will become of what we constantly think if we do not pray against it. The devil offers us useless, meaningless and irrelevant thoughts and he always will. We need not to give our mind, thoughts and emotions to the enemy! Negative thinking is a sin. Why? Because it is not of God. It is of the Devil *rolls eyes*. Let me tell you something… Sin is conceived first in your mind before you do it physically, you have done it mentally. Every time you sin it starts with your thoughts, meaning your mind is the first platform and once you meditate on that sin and give it a bit of attention it begins to have power and begins to overcome you, leading you to then act on that sin.

When this happens, when the enemy is trying to control your mind speak out a scripture, confront that bad thought. Pray and use the word of God to fight your battles, say “Satan get behind me!” Renew your mind with the word of God. The only way to overcome negative thinking is to overcome it mentally. Once you have overcome it mentally you have won it physically! In Luke 10:19 it say’s “ I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you.” The devil has power, but we have POWER and AUTHORITY over the devil.

Continuously renew your mind! As long as we are on earth the devil will always try and tempt us. Why? Because he doesn't want you to be happy, he doesn't want you to rest, he doesn't want you to succeed, he doesn't want you to be victorious. He wants you to be angry, depressed, scared, hurt, confused, suffocated… When the devil entices you he is trying to break you down mentally, physically and emotionally and he will not stop. That’s why we need to continuously renew our mind, be strong and firm in faith. Know who you are in Christ, know that nothing can harm you because you have the Lord Jesus by your side ALWAYS!!! Know that God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit is guiding you. Know that you are not alone in this world.

When you are seeking God, when you are studying the wonderful works of Jesus the Devil becomes angry. He gets angry because you have seen the light and you are now walking towards that beautiful, glamorous light as you step out of darkness. He gets angry because you are feeding your mind and soul with the knowledge of Jesus. The Devil is angry because he is losing (as always), he is angry because he is losing control. “ I have come into the world as light, so that whoever believes in me may not remain in darkness.John 12:46

Peace, Joy and Happiness

Jesus said “ I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33. God has given to each and every one of us a POWERFUL GIFT which is his WORD! We should fight the Devil with the word of God, when we get tempted, when you are thinking negative, when we are quick to anger, when we have tribulations, when we sin … PRAY!!! Because God has got you, he’s got your back! Jesus has overcome the world!

It is important and essential that you have a positive mind and attitude. When you get tempted, when evil thoughts try and cloud you mind, talk to yourself, ask the Holy Spirit to intervene. Listen to the Holy Spirit. Obey God’s word and voice. Open your mouth and talk back to the Devil, rebuke him because you are a child of God and nothing can harm you! Do not assist the Devil always resist the Devil, flee from him because you are better than that, you are a child of God and heaven is your home! Remember that!

Joyce Meyer said in one of her preaching’s, “ When the devil tries to remind you of what you have done in the past, say “Thank you for reminding me because now I just remembered how good God is to forgive me and wash it all away”. How great is our Lord Jesus? He is GREAAAAAT!!!

Educate yourself with the word everyday, to the point that when you wake up and put your feet to the ground, the enemy will be afraid of what you will learn that day, and the progress you will make.

*Prayer*

I rebuke you Satan, get behind me Satan, leave me alone, don’t mess with me for I am a child of God, I am the righteousness of God in Christ, I am sanctified, I am redeemed , I am justified, I am Holy and he is with me daily. I have been bought with the blood of Jesus. He died for my sins, therefore I am forgiven. You might try and tempt me but know that the God I worship is greater. Satan I said get behind me! You have no business with a child of God and you have already lost this battle. So Lord I pray that you continue to guide me and to help me renew my mind with your word daily.

In this I pray in Jesus name, Amen.

--

--