What is the Real Truth about Worship?

Do you know the meaning of worship?

Janis Cox
4 min readOct 30, 2018

--

Photo by Bill Hamway on Unsplash

When you hear the word “worship” does it conjure up hands in the air?
Do you think of kneeling?
What is your concept of worship?

That first moment

As I walked into the back entry of the church building, the Sunday school, parking lot entrance, I heard the beat of a drum and music. I felt God’s presence heavy upon me. I still get goosebumps as I recall that moment.

I walked into a hallway adjoining this entrance and there stood my friend. She had invited me to come to her service after we have talked about “church”. Standing around her was a group of women with big smiles on their faces.

You would think I was royalty.

The warmth coming from their eyes and the glow around them, made me feel I had come home. Yes, I was home. I had never met any of them except my friend, Donna, who invited me. I had never been inside this church before.

Music surrounded me

As I stood there — we talked, we hugged. And then as the music propelled us toward the sanctuary, we filed into the FRONT of the church. Yes, we went into the front. We walked beside the band which…

--

--

Janis Cox

Creativity Spiritual Catalyst. Author/Illustrator. Jesus follower. Growing Through God's Word FB group for reading the Bible. janiscox.com