Why I’m an Anarchist

Brittany Forrester
4 min readSep 6, 2015

--

This is something I’ve never written about before. Being an Anarchist isn’t a secret, but it has taken courage for me to embrace the title. It has taken me 33 years of searching for truth, trial and error, learning not to care what others think, discovery, and finally learning that when I’m aligned with truth, I have the power of the universe behind me. I’m now proud to call myself an Anarchist.

Ever since I was a little girl, I longed for freedom. I spent my childhood waking up before dawn to go off to public school where I would sit in a classroom bored to tears 5 out of 7 days of the week. The school owned more of my days than I did. These people told me when I could eat, when I could go to the bathroom, when I could talk to my friends. Who were they to have that authority over me? Who was anyone to tell another human being when they could go to the bathroom?

I valued myself, and I always resented being told what to do. As a little girl, my mom encouraged my sovereignty. She would stick up for me if a teacher, a babysitter, or an aunt overstepped my boundaries.

I cherished my summers, but they were always so short. Going back to school was the end of life as I knew it. Goodbye freedom, hello slavery. That’s how I always felt about it. I would leave for school every day and envy my dog. He got to stay home all day. I would watch the birds and wonder why humans were so different. Why didn’t we have that freedom?

Other than my mom teaching me about my sovereignty at a core level, I didn’t grow up in a world that nurtured that in me, so I was very angry and confused. I was taught that life is hard, and that you simply have to do things you don’t want to. It’s just part of being a human. I longed for freedom my whole life, but I never knew how to get it and how to support myself financially as a sovereign being, without being a slave.

One afternoon in my mid-twenties I stumbled upon a documentary about Anarchists. It shattered everything I had ever been told about them. It resonated with me on a deep level. These people were so brave and intelligent, and they were such individuals. But associating myself as an Anarchist was a long way off for me.

Being extremely uneducated about politics and also a bleeding heart, I believed that I was a Liberal Democrat through and through. I longed to do something meaningful with my life, and I moved to Minneapolis to work at a Liberal environmental lobby organization. I was so excited to be among my peers, to work with people who cared about the world, worked to make it a better place, and inspired me.

But it wasn’t long before a veil started lifting. Lobbying for laws to protect the environment seemed like the least efficient way to make change to me. And did I really want more laws? I thought about how much change we could make by using our resources to gather like-minded people together.

Then came 2008, the year Ron Paul ran for president. There was no looking back from there. The world was starting to make sense now. More freedom. Liberty. That was something I could really, truly get behind. That was something I understood through and through. Clarity.

Moving to Asheville, NC put me in touch with Anarchists. It’s been somewhat of a journey for me to finally associate myself as an Anarchist. I knew I wanted freedom. I didn’t need a label or a title, though. I just knew I wanted freedom.

What I’ve come to realize is that Anarchy is truth, and there is no way around that. Every single one of us is sovereign just like the birds I so admired. Sovereignty is a natural law. We’re not hunks of meat with brains. Each and every one of us is intelligent spirit, undying eternal energy. Freedom is our natural state. Hierarchy of any kind goes against natural law. It always has, and it always will. Whether Anarchy is attainable is irrelevant. The logistics of Anarchy are irrelevant. Anarchy is truth. Sovereignty is universal law. Truth is the most relevant, important thing that exists. We must live in accordance with truth. Therefore Anarchy is something we all must work toward very hard.

Hierarchy is held in place by violence. Violence is wrong. Violence goes against natural law.

I’m an Anarchist because I love life, because I love and believe in humanity, and because I know people want peace.

We humans complicate everything. Let’s accept that we’re all sovereign and use our imaginations to create a peaceful, free world!

I dedicate my life to freedom. I write about healing and inner freedom in my blog Body Mind Heart Healing. I hope to connect with you on the facebook page!

--

--

Brittany Forrester

Free-spirited mystic and Anarchist who loves sunshine, bad reality tv and thrift stores. I write about stuff that inspires me and sell vintage clothing on etsy.