A chat with a local mum, blogger and twin tamer — Sarah Barnes (AKA Taming Twins)

BromsgroveMothership
4 min readJul 11, 2017

--

Not too far away is the Worcestershire home of the popular blogger & recipe creator Sarah A.K.A Taming Twins. She is a whizz in the kitchen, a juggler of twins and a vlogger/blogger extrodianaire. I hunted Sarah down and quizzed her about how she keeps all her balls in the air, so to speak and keeps enthused (or not) in the kitchen.

Sarah Barnes — Taming Twins

What is your best tip(s) for mums who are juggling everything but determined to provide good home cooked meals?

“Make friends with your freezer! It’s the ideal way to have home cooked meals on hand even when you don’t feel like getting handy in the kitchen. A few hours of prep when you’re in the mood will give you meals for weeks.”

What is your favourite time saving kitchen gadget?

My combi microwave has changed my life recently, who knew that you could microwave and grill stuff at the same time?!

Which are your favourite recipes blogs for mid week quick meals?

My favourite food blog of all time is Pinch of Yum. Heaps of inspiration for healthy delicious meals and lots of them are quick too.

How do you tackle your children when they refuse to eat?

Now they are 5 it’s a little easier as they understand that when I say “no snacks after this” I really mean it. When they were younger (and still now) I try to praise them as much as possible for all of the good things they do at dinner time, even if it’s praising them for eating a single piece of carrot. They respond much better to praise then and want more of it, rather than me moaning.

What do your children love to eat? And hate to eat?

They love fruit which I’m really pleased about, they are less keen on any meat that has that very distinctive texture, like steak. I keep trying though!

How do you save time in the kitchen?

I try to bulk cook and freeze portions whenever I can. This is the single biggest timesaving thing I do. Oh and cheating and buying ready chopped frozen onions and garlic.

Do you do meal planning?

Yes and I love that it stops me having to think too much in the evenings. I don’t always end up sticking to it, but progress not perfection is my motto.

What is your favourite local restaurant?

I really like The Gate at Bournheath for Mexican in a cosy pub or Fig & Favour in Hagley for wood fired pizzas in the evenings.

Do you cook every night? How do you remain enthused?

No.. I don’t and I don’t always remain enthused! I try and mix up our routines, with some really easy meals, some meals I’ve pre-frozen and some that feel like a treat (like takeaway meals). I’ve also tried some of the meal box subscription services recently and really enjoyed those to mix up our usual dinners.

What do you consider to be a food treat?

I love a really really good burger, hello Five Guys! Or fish and chips on a summer evening with the kids in the park. Lush!

Do you always eat with the children every day?

No, it’s not always possible with the timings of our evenings, but I do really try to make the effort whenever we can, especially at the weekends. I’ve really noticed that they are more willing to try new foods when it’s part of a family meal.

So there you go! You heard it all hear first and if you want to find out more about Sarah and her amazing family friendly recipes and blogs you can visit www.tamingtwins.com or check out her Facebook and Instagram. I have tried a variety of Sarah’s recipes and we’ve never been disappointed. My top Taming Twins midweek life saviours are:

  1. Easy Chilli Con Carne Recipe
  2. Pesto Chicken Bake Recipe (One Pan)
  3. Beef Stifado (Slimming World Friendly)
  4. Quinoa, Asparagus, Pea and Lemon Salad

Also if you can’t resist a sweet treat then i’d HIGHLY recommend these bad boys:

  1. No Bake Nutella Cheesecake Recipe
  2. Chocolate Orange Layer Cake Recipe
  3. Pimms Layer Cake
  4. Creme Egg Cheesecake Recipe

--

--