TikTok OSINT: targeted user investigation (Part 3/3: Scripts)

BTF_117
2 min readApr 27, 2020

--

Your investigation on the TikTok user is running late. Reading JSON files gets tougher by the minute. I know… that’s why I tried to write scripts to help us out. They’re not pretty but by now, you sure know it: I am old!
** Scripts updated on May, 5th 2020**
Part 1 / Part 2

For those who want the scripts right now, head to my GitHub.

Be gentle, this is my first real project in Python. From what I understand, my code is not pretty. In fact, I named the scripts “BerserkParser” because my code is insanely wild. And not in a good way! But hey, my tests show that it works.

There are actually 2 scripts, written in Python 3. BerserkParser_to_file.py will output the result to a file. BerserkParser_to_screen.py will do it to the screen.

The idea behind these scripts is to parse through the JSON files you will have collected by proxying the traffic of your smartphone/emulator (see my previous articles). The instructions to do that with Fiddler are in the GitHub readme file and in the previous articles.

I really struggled with the JSON format of the responses collected. Having a mix of strings, lists, unicode, JSON really made it more complex for me to write the values to a file. That’s one of the many reasons my code is so not-elegant.

What you will get after running the script is a “profile” of your target on TikTok. Think nickname, UID, unique ID or URL to large picture), links to other social media, number of followers/following, lists of all the followers/following nicknames. The new update adds support for extended information and video information!

So play with the scripts, break them or whatever you do with scripts and if you want to improve them, please let me know!

Stay safe and happy proxying/tiktoking/scripting!

--

--

BTF_117

OSINT guy, kayaker, rower, not the smartest person in the room…