KweLi
3 min readJun 1, 2023

DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONALITY

30 Days writing Challenge(Day 1)

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

If procrastination is a personality type, I'll simply just start this 30 days writing challenge, by saying 'I'm a procrastinator "

End of story.

Unfortunately for me, it is not. I still have to answer the question. Describe your personality.

Some months back, I stumbled on a 30 days writing challenge. decided to participate to get my writing groove on. Months later, I haven't even been able to finish writing about describe my personality.

All I needed to do was to pick up a pen and write. but as usual. I think I like using adequate planning as an excuse for not doing shit. Excuse my French.

If I have 6 hours to cut down a tree I'll sharpen the axe for 5 hours. In my case, I often start sharpening the axe and lose focus on why I started sharpening the axe in the first place…

I started going deep into the subject of "personality" to research different personalities. Like I was writing a thesis. Got carried away and eventually forgot why I started.

Stumbled on the challenge again and I felt bad. Like so many tasks I embarked on, I wasn't able to at least get started and write consistently for 30 days. How hard can this be?

Is there a simple way to answer, and describe your personality? I guess I have started already.

My understanding of personality is someone's behavioral patterns. Values, morals, Ethics, temperament, belief systems, exposure, level of understanding, etc.

In short, describing your personality is simply talking about your behavior. Our behaviors are not random

There are times when we stretch and behave in such a way we think we are not capable of doing. This brings me to the "Rubber band theory" of personality. We are like a rubber band at rest. We are elastic and stretch ourselves but we will still go back to default settings.

Personality is "the combination of characteristics or qualities that form an individual's distinctive character "

The most popular method people use to describe their personality is using the temperament they fall under. Well, I'm not like most people. I'll just stick to a central dimension in human personality theories. That's traits of extraversion and introversion.

I don't need any personality test to tell me I'm an introvert. We live in a society that portrays extroversion as the ideal of success. Whoever is more vocal or confident is believed to be more vocal.

I wish I had picked up Susan Cain's Book Quiet

Back when I was in school. Used to think I had a problem because of my introversion. On the outside I'm Quiet but inside my head is always noisy.

I didn't fully understand myself. I tried to act like some of my extroverted friends. Often I end up feeling awkward. Other times, Rubber theory makes me fit in well for the moment

I no longer beat myself over things like this. I've grown and I understand myself more.

I've been talking about my personality but it doesn't feel like it because I don't think this is how I will answer the question in an interview room.

I won't want to bore the hiring manager. Lol.

I think I will answer like this, I'm very empathetic and sympathetic often, and I put people first. I'm sensitive and observant.

I'm very curious, and dependable, one of my friends randomly said I'm resilient. I like to believe I'm funny. At least when I'm tipsy or in the right company.

I feel my look is different from my personality. No wonder they say don't judge a book by its cover.

Today is just Day one of a 30 days writing challenge. So I'll just stop here..

See you tomorrow.

KweLi

Writing and rewriting stories in my own words for my nephews, nieces, my unborn kids. Their kids, their kids' kids, their kid's kids kids. Ad infinitum