Dear Representative, Senator, Policy Maker, Agency Official, Medical and Scientific Expert, Scientist on the Fence, Friend that Won’t Sit Down and Talk About it and Unfriends my Ass and/or Mass Media Journalist

Viviane Vives Begliomini
14 min readApr 12, 2019
Photo: Viviane Vives

I’m troubled by the climate of political and media pushing for mandatory vaccination and the hysterics around measles.

I have life-long immunity from having wild measles as a child and I will never catch measles because I was not vaccinated against it. Furthermore, I was able to pass on my immunity to my infant via breast milk to protect him during the first 12 months, when measles is actually dangerous.

On the other hand, a vaccinated mom won’t be able to protect her child in this way, because her own immunity from vaccination will most likely wean or will be too weak by the time she will conceive. Her baby will be at risk when most vulnerable:

“The vulnerability of very young babies to measles today is the direct outcome of the prolonged mass vaccination campaign of the past, during which their mothers, themselves vaccinated in their childhood, were not able to experience measles naturally at a safe school age and establish the lifelong immunity that would also be transferred to their babies and protect them from measles for the first year of…

--

--