Can Trump Pardon Traitors?

Barry's Ghost
2 min readOct 3, 2017

--

Click this image to follow @Barry4America on Twitter

This post provides the backdrop for my next post, Can You See the Lying Russian Trolls Playing You for a Fool?

If you’re reading my blog for my work on Russian trolls, feel free to skip ahead to the next post. If you’d like more background on how I came to become interested in Russian info ops or you’d like to know more about Trump’s pardon powers, please read on.

So anyway, when I joined Twitter on July 15, 2017, the chatter at the time was about pardons. I turned my attention to that issue, tweeting first about whether President Trump can pardon in secret.

I also looked at whether President Trump can pardon for treason.

Our founders knew that a President who’s party to treason can be “impeached and prosecuted.” Tweet this.

Since I had been tweeting about pardons and treason, I searched in late July to see what other peeps had been tweeting on the same subject.

As an example, I tweeted this response to Andrew C. Laufer (who promptly blocked me — LOL so much for his claimed willingness to debate).

I also responded to @KBAndersen with a short thread that Stargazer jumped in on.

If I had been paying closer attention to what I found in my search results, I would have seen even sooner that Russia was still running a massive disinformation campaign on Twitter designed to undermine public faith in our democracy. For that story, read my next post, Can You See the Lying Russian Trolls Playing You for a Fool?

--

--

Barry's Ghost

A one-time Republican who opposes Trump & Russian meddling in our democracy.