ON THE OTHER SIDE OF FAILURE

Ben Killoy
4 min readDec 16, 2017

--

How many of us know what lies on the other side of failure? Not many, most of us barely take the risk to see what failure is let alone what’s on the other side. Our brain is hardwired from the cave man days to keep us safe, and for two thousand years, this kept us safe. But in this century, it is what is holding us back.

So, what’s on the other side of failure you ask … Success! Throughout most of this year I have been on a journey as a new blogger and life coach for veterans, and in all honesty, it has scared me not knowing if it will be successful. I often repeat after writing a blog, will the world accept or reject my words.

As I reflect on what this year has taught me it is that is that on the other side of failure could be the success I have always wanted.

Let me explain what I mean. I heard once that some of the most successful people we see in life are ones that simple learned how to fail faster.

We can get so caught up the first good idea that we keep waiting till it feels right, or we are just ready. Well, I am here to tell you that is all garbage. It’s more important to start than it is to get it right.

We all remember Mrs. Frizzle from the Magic School Bus, right? Well, she gave us some crucial words that I think we as adults often forget. Life is about getting messy and making mistakes.

We need to embrace her philosophy when it comes to action in our life.

Sometimes to find a second or even third idea we need to fail at the first one.

Action creates clarity and failure creates growth! Without either of these the freedom, passion, and life we want for ourselves and our family is not possible.

Let me stop here and tell you about how this applied to my life this year. I started this blog and business back in March of 2017, continued executing, learning, and growing. Even as I write this post, I am still growing. But it took me this entire year of pursuing one dream to realize I was sitting on another one that I have wanted to do my whole life.

Fly Airplanes

I have loved everything about airplanes since I was a kid, I am what you might call a BIG plane nerd. I have dreamed of a career as a pilot or anything plane related, but I never really could materialize the dream into action.

Well, just two weeks ago it hit me that my perpetual (never ending) source of energy, what I would wake up every day and do for free was planes! So, this was only half way to my idea or dream because it took an old idea of flying drones commercially (something else I love doing) and is now making it a reality.

Just this week I started to study for the test to get my license. To offer any services related to Drones you need a license from the FAA.

I tell this story to come full circle that I had to go on the journey with my first idea until I could work through on my second idea. I had to meet the people along the way that would influence my thought patterns and the subsequent actions.

I don’t consider this blog a failure or one that I am giving up on, but it was only on the other side of failure trying to get traction in one area that the other idea appeared.

So I am hear to tell you that one the other side of failure could be what you have always wanted for your life.

If this sounds like something that hit home or you are interested in uncovering the hidden action in your life, email me at ben@benkilloy.com to set up a call.

FREE GIFT — Subscribe to our mailing list

Get our exclusive DAY 1 STARTER KIT filled with over 30 pieces of wisdom other veterans wish they knew on day 1. The advice is timeless for any veteran at any stage of transition.

Filled with VALUE BOMBS on Health, Education, and Career.

* indicates required

First Name

Email Address *

Last Name

What area do you need help with most?

Originally published at True Purpose 4 Life.

--

--

Ben Killoy

A Veteran, Husband, Father, Writer, and Podcaster | I host the Military Veteran Dad Podcast where it is our mission to bring every dad home