My dream job — and why you should apply and I won’t be

Ben Rouse
2 min readMay 22, 2016

--

For some time I have felt decisions and ideas generated in my own field of education and in others I observe, are not founded on the right stuff. It has only been while getting to know #designthinking better that I realise what the right stuff is.

I joined Twitter and soon found Tom Barrett sharing “30 ideas for..” and other top tips for teachers. He said hi and my followers grew. Tom’s departure from designthinking consultancy Notosh led me to discover that Ewan McIntosh is hiring! I have been inspired by a Ewan keynote in Toulouse and find it hard to approach anything without a design thinking angle these days. Take for example my new school for September… below is a session I undertook with students asking then to list things they would keep, tweak or stop in their maths lessons. Check out another of my medium posts to find out more.

My Multi-Academy Trust has given me a chance to design think our communication as we grow and add more schools. We have immersed, empathised, synthesised, ideated and are beginning to prototype.

My boss has put faith in me and I have given my word to start working with a great school that others don’t realise is great yet and most importantly, my son loves his school and my wife has great friends and walks dogs for money! (She would do it for free) For these reasons I won’t be applying for my dream job…

Yet… but I encourage you to consider joining Notosh if you have an innovative urge you need to develop. Apply now

--

--

Ben Rouse

Teacher, Trainer and hoping to become a design thinker in the way I approach those..