What is Capstone

Ben D-Nagy
1 min readAug 31, 2021

--

An introduction the most important class of my senior year.

Hi,

My name is Ben, and I am a senior at Maryville University studying Graphic Design. I have now made it to my last year of college, and because of this, I am now responsible for completing my thesis project known as capstone. As I understand it, capstone is a project of the students choosing, representing the culmination of their education within their degree program. I am writing this blog to document my process throughout the semester and reflect on how I perform.

I am now in week two of capstone, and it has been pretty easy so far. We have been given reading assignments and thought exercises to help us develop solid ideas for our project. The professor has made the process less stressful by breaking up this project into many baby steps, making everything seem manageable. I hope it continues to feel this way throughout the semester.

Since I was very young, I have loved drawing, which is still true to this day. When I started my junior year of college, I became interested in type after taking my first course in typography. As the year progressed, I became curious about the craft of designing letterforms, which led me to discover type design. For this project, my ideas have revolved around combining my childhood passions for illustrating with my newly acquired curiosity for typographic design. Throughout this week, I will continue to develop my ideas and hopefully find something worthy of a capstone project.

--

--