My Experience With Jesus By TRULY Following Him

Bethy Edionwe
7 min readAug 12, 2016

--

Who Is Jesus?

Hi, my name is Elizabeth! I am here to shed light to a world full of confusion as to whether God is real or not, as to whether there is a spiritual side to man or not, as to whether there was a Creation or Big Bang, by sharing my experience in TRULY following the unseen, Jesus, who is the spiritual side of man.

As a child, when I was in the elementary school, I was introduced to a popular Christian faith. In this particular faith, I was only taught to recite the 10 commandments, got baptized and then confirmed. From then on mostly everything they taught were rituals, meaning we were Christians in name but not in heart. If you asked me then who I was, I would have boldly told you that I was a Christian. I was baptized, confirmed, went to confessions, counted the rosary, bowed to the images of Mary and Christ, and taking the Holy Communion. There was no emphasis on truly knowing Jesus from the heart which is common for a lot of people who say they are Christians today and before now. Back then and today, the common theme is just saying words and wearing the Christian label. I was this type of Christian that was wearing Christian label, but not a Christian at heart. But my life changed when I was 18 years old during my last year of High School.

During my last Semester in High School, I met two guys who attended another Christian faith. This Christian faith called themselves ‘Pentecostal Christians.’ The first time I went with one of them to this new church, “Oh my goodness!!!!’ I was so amazed. Seriously, ‘I was so amazed.’ I was so amazed because this was my first time ever hearing a Preacher telling the audience how to apply the content of the Bible to one’s life. While inside this church, I was thinking — “Are you kidding me?” “So, you can actually apply the words of God to your life and it will work for you instead of just being a nominal Christian?” So I became enthusiastic, to say the least. The encounter with this faith was completely opposite the other popular Christian faith I was with in my early years. Over there, it was all rituals. But over here, with this faith, their belief was purely from the heart. Being with this new faith and TRULY following Jesus for the past 42 years, I want to tell you just a small part of my experience with Jesus.

So, in my last year of High school, I asked Jesus to become the leader of my life. From then on, Jesus became my friend that is closer to me than a brother. He became a parent that is closer and better than my earthly parents. After I graduated from High School, I went out of town to start a higher education. I was completely alone with no relatives nearby. I did everything alone. My only guide and person to talk to were God and His Son, Jesus. At that time, there were no cell phones to call home, and letters took weeks before they got to you. In short, my parents did not even know how to read or write. Jesus was my all in all. Now, before I started my first academic year at this school, I had some money, but soon I quickly ran out of money after my first academic year. Mind you, I still had 3 more years to go. I had no idea where the money would come from to cover those three years — no idea. Hmm! But guess what! During the holiday after my first year, and before starting the second year, our State government declared free education in my country. Wow! “Free education?” Free education when there was no hope of getting any money from anywhere? What can anyone call this? A co-incidence? No, this wasn’t a coincidence. It was Jesus who knew I had no money, and there were no part-time jobs available, no relatives had the money to pay either. Jesus knew these and He helped me. Guess what! Not only did the government pay for everything for me, they gave us students stipends every semester. So I had money to buy things I needed. As I’m writing this, I’m trying to hold back tears when I think of how Jesus helped me during my time of need.

If I tell you all that Jesus has done for me we will be here all day. But let me tell you just one more. One day I went to a shopping center and parked my car in the parking lot. When I was about to leave, I went into my car and looked back to check if there was any car behind me, and there was none. You know some people can speed even in the parking lot. So, having looked back and seeing no car behind me, I proceeded to back up, not knowing that in a split second a car was right behind me. But at that split second of backing up, my car was stopped by something that felt so very soft, like a cushion. So I quickly looked back to see what stopped my car. I saw nothing! I only then saw that a car was right behind me. The distance between my car and the other car was just about two feet and I would have collided with that car if an invisible hand had not stopped my car from proceeding further backward. So, at this moment, I put my car in park. My friend, for the next few minutes, I just stayed in my car and wondered what had just happened to me. Indeed, I was in awe of what Jesus had just done for me right there. The LORD God knew how devastated I would have been if I had hit that car. At that time in my life, I was jobless, and then compound it by hitting a car? Believe it or not my friend, Jesus held my car from hitting the other car. You know another intriguing thing about this? One day, I told a Christian friend of mine about this incident, and she told me she had the same thing happen to her with her car. These are not natural occurrences. There is a spiritual side to life on earth, my friend!

Now, let me tell you one of the greatest things I have gained in TRULY following Jesus — it is the peace of mind He gives to whoever TRULY follows Him. He gives me that peace. Now, this type of peace is what money cannot buy. This type of peace does not come as a result of the great wealth you possess. It does not come from your friends, mom, dad, siblings, good job, etc. Jesus is the only one that can personally give this type of peace to someone. Yes, I have faced some hurdles, but the peace I experience in the midst of trying to overcome a hurdle is beyond human understanding. Naturally, when people face hurdles, they take to drinking, smoking, over-eating, excessive shopping, taking drugs, etc. Some just start lashing out at others; they do all sorts of things to temporarily suppress the weight of their problems. But for me, when faced with a problem, I know who to turn to for help. His name is Jesus. He has come through for me over and over again.

I am 60 years old right now. But from my last semester in High School till now, Jesus has been my wonderful counselor. He advises me on what to do in every situation. Friend, what I have told you is just a tip of the iceberg of what Jesus has done for me in my life. When you TRULY follow Jesus that is when you are in the KINGDOM OF GOD ON EARTH. If you want to know how to TRULY follow Jesus and be in the Kingdom of God on Earth, and start to experience His goodness in your life read more at http://gobethy.com. You may have to copy and paste this url in google to get there. Thanks for your time.

--

--