I Made my First Powershell Script, Here is What I Learned

Better Everything
5 min readApr 3, 2023

As you can read in the title, today I made my first Powershell script, here is why and how, and what I learned.

In this post I share what I learned from creating my first Powershell script.
In this post I share what I learned from creating my first Powershell script. Image by catalyststuff on Freepik

What is Powershell?

At the start of the day I had heard of Powershell and seen the name, but I didn’t really know what it was.

I had also heard about shell scripts, but neither did I know what that was. Since I was curious, I did some research. Well, I quickly found out that shell scripts are text files that contain command-line commands. Commands that you can enter and run in a terminal window. But I also saw that shell scripts are for Linux / Unix operating systems.

Since I am working with Windows, I searched for a shell script alternative for Windows. And that is how I found out about Powershell.

Powershell scripts are text files that can contain commands for Windows command-line. It also has its own progamming language with its own syntax.

What I wanted to use Powershell for

I was really interested in the simplicity of running a Powershell script by clicking on it. Because then you can basically run commands without having to open a terminal and manually enter and run the…

--

--

Better Everything

📖 My E-Books: amazon.com/author/better-everything ✅Programming, Data & Business ✅Automation & Optimization ✅Knowledge & Inspiration