Dear Internet, Stop Telling Me to Quit My Job

Bianca Bass
3 min readMay 23, 2016

Like you, I love the internet and its ever-growing self-help section. But I am so bored of seeing quotes that say ‘Quit your job!’ ‘Follow your dreams!’ ‘Do what you love!’

Here’s why…

Firstly, great advice! Really life-changing stuff. I’ll hand in my notice tomorrow, you sage! Are you going to pay for my apartment/bills/food/life, too?

Secondly, have you ever thought that I might actually enjoy my day job? That it might even give me purpose and focus to work harder and better at my side hustles? That I enjoy the human interaction and, heaven forbid, a routine?

I was created to create, that much is true. But I’m also here to learn from people far more experienced than I am. From office politics. From the art of being a woman in the world of work.

I’m not ruling out the possibility of running off to Thailand to live out my nomadic fantasies, I’m simply saying: not now. Not before I’ve made my mark. Not before I’ve achieved something I can be proud of.

Interestingly, a day job has become somewhat of a dirty little secret in the creative world.

But day jobs have been the foundation for so many people’s wildest dreams. The base from which people can save some money, start a fuck off fund and build their lives.

--

--

Bianca Bass

British-Brazilian writer and marketer sharing ideas on better communication, creativity and personal development. ✨