Chef Boy R Meeze
2 min readMay 6, 2016

I grill and smoke meat.

Cooking is a hobby of mine, but it’s also something I strive to be the best at. At the beginning it was about watching sports and drinking beer. But games can take hours, and you need something to eat while doing all that sitting and drinking.

My buddy and I started on a Weber kettle. His neighbor would come by for sports and grill with us, and we would go over to his place. He taught us to cook to tritip. It’s a funny cut of meat. The point of the tritip is thicker. The narrow side is wider.

So cooking one of these takes a little practice.

The neighbor upgraded his grill and gave us his. My buddy moved, and I became his roommate again. We had a housewarming where we roasted a couple of pork butts and made pulled pork.

While researching the pork butt cooking process, I started seeing smoker all over the place. I researched smokers and decided to buy a Weber Smokey Mountain bullet style smoker. It was the best $400 I spent.

We retired the grill his neighbor had given us. We picked up a Weber Performer.

I started reading Adam Perry Lang’s Charred and Scruffed, and it inspired me to elevate my grill game.

So I will write here as I continue to improve. Feel free to ask questions, and I will do my best to answer any questions.