The Worst TEDx Talk Titles

Bilyana Georgieva
4 min readApr 13, 2022

--

By Bilyana Georgieva, TEDx Coach, Digital Nerd and Multi-Award Winning Professional Speaker, founder of The ‘Soon-To-Be a TEDx Speaker’ Program.

The ‘Soon-To-Be a TEDx Speaker’ newsletter gives you tips, tricks and hacks for your successful TEDx Journey. Make sure you follow me on Medium and click the 🔔 button on my profile to be notified when I post them.

Are you planning to do a TEDx talk and you are puzzled what title to give?

Here is the Nr 1 BIGGEST MISTAKE almost Everyone makes on their TEDx Talk title that KILLS their visibility, and therefore their success:

Throwing few buzz words without creating a meaningful sentence

Check out those examples:

Such mistake will get you about 200 views on YouTube,

which means you did all that work to do a TEDx and now no one finds it..

Why?

Because your TEDx Talk title is:

⚠️ the decision driver for people to click and watch your talk,

and it’s

⚠️ the “compass” for YouTube to understand what key words are relevant for your talk so it can show it to as many people interested in your topic as possible

And here is the Nr 2 BIGGEST MISTAKE on TEDx titles I’ve seen:

TEDx Talk titles that gives the answer of the problem and / or

doesn’t create any curiosity

Here are few examples:

Sadly such mistake will lead to the same result as above -

if you type those titles on YouTube you will see that those TEDx talks have about 200 views.

It’s like a movie you watch — if the title or the beginning of the film tells you that Jack is the killer will you watch it till the end?

Well, if Brad Pitt plays Jack, Angelina Jolie is in the other main role and most of the scenes are filmed on the beach somewhere in the Bahamas, you might give it a go but otherwise I believe your answer is a ‘No’

𝙍𝙚𝙢𝙚𝙢𝙗𝙚𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙞𝙨 𝙩𝙤𝙙𝙖𝙮:

❗️50% of your success is your TEDx idea and how you deliver it on stage,

❗️the other 50% of your success is how you diffuse your talk, which starts with your title — the most catchy, powerful element.

If people don’t understand or are not triggered by your Title they will keep scrolling down.

Therefore ..

What’s the point doing half of the job?

It’s so sad to see such bloomer on titles as trust me, some of those talks I gave you as examples are really good!

I know I’m harsh today but I’m giving you the truth with all my love and because I want YOU

❌ to not do common mistakes,

❌ to not waste your time,

✅ and to be success-full

For those of you who knows well YouTube and are thinking right now, ok Bilyana, the most catchy element is the thumbnail, then is the title.. Please know that the TEDx platform doesn’t allow an upload of a thumbnail. The software captures the thumbnail automatically and no one has control. Therefore, the TEDx Title IS the first and most powerful key element for the success of your TEDx video.

As I gave you today the Worst TEDx Talk Titles ever as examples and what NOT to do I will give you next week How TO create a powerful title that will attract people’s attention. Make sure you follow me on Medium and click the 🔔 button on my profile so you will get notified when I publish my next article.

Don’t forget to subscribe for this newsletter so you get every week tips, trick and hacks for your successful TEDx journey. APPLAUD👏and SHARE this article with the people around you, whose dream is to become a TEDx Speaker.

You have a burning question and you want my advice for free? Join my weekly LIVE Podcast on LinkedIn, YouTube and Facebook every Friday at 12 pm BST / 7 am ET / 6 am CT.

Sending you love and energy!

Yours,

Bilyana

--

--

Bilyana Georgieva

Public Speaking Coach | Digital & Social Media Nerd | Powering Your TEDx Talk so It Can Become Popular on Social Media