TikTok Shorts for TEDx Talk — Yes or a No?

Bilyana Georgieva
2 min readJun 22, 2022

--

By Bilyana Georgieva, TEDx Coach, Digital Nerd and Multi-Award Winning Professional Speaker, founder of The ‘Red Dot Speaker Star’ (formerly ‘Soon-To-Be a TEDx Speaker’) Program.

The ‘Red Dot Speaker Star’ newsletter gives you tips, tricks and hacks for your successful TEDx Journey. Make sure you follow me on Medium and click the 🔔 button on my profile to be notified when I share them.

“Should I do TikTok #Shorts for my TEDx talk?”

is one of the questions I get a lot lately

I’ve got three answers for you but let me give you first the stats of the results I had with my mentees TEDx talks in the past 3 months.

Only 10% of the people watching a TikTok short went to watch the full TEDx video on YouTube

Regardless how catchy the short was, we had almost the same result for each TEDx talk.

Therefore the answer of the above question is not one but three, depending on expectations and goals:

✅ If you want to increase the views of your TEDx talk on YouTube and you have 1+ million followers on TikTokGO FOR IT!

❌ If you have few thousand followers on TikTok and your goal is to increase the views of your TEDx talk on YouTubeDON’T DO IT!

There will be a very small amount of people who will go to search your talk on YouTube.

Plus, if someone already watched the short on TikTok, then YouTube shows your talk in the ‘Suggested for you’ feed they will more likely NOT click to watch it. In their mind they’ve seen it already

✅ However, if you simply want visibility and you don’t care where that visibility comes from, i.e. the amount of views on your YouTube TEDx video doesn’t matter for you, then DO IT! Cut a 30 seconds snippet of your TEDx video and turn it into a TikTok #short right now!

Thanks for reading this week’s ‘Red Dot Speaker Star’ newsletter. Make sure you follow me on Medium and click the 🔔 button on my profile so you will get notified when I publish my next article.

Don’t forget to subscribe for this newsletter to receive every week tips, trick and hacks for your successful TEDx journey. APPLAUD 👏 and SHARE this article with the people around you, whose dream is to become a TEDx Speaker.

You have a burning question and you want my advice? Join my Patreon community HERE and blast your questions.

Sending you love and energy!

Yours,

Bilyana

--

--

Bilyana Georgieva

Public Speaking Coach | Digital & Social Media Nerd | Powering Your TEDx Talk so It Can Become Popular on Social Media