Pregnancy doesn’t pause for the holidays

While many of us go on holidays at this time of year, women do not magically stop having babies! We’ve put this feature together to remind us all to keep the women bringing their babies into the world in our hearts and minds this holiday season.

Birth for Humankind
4 min readDec 11, 2017

Meet Elsy.

She is a client in our Doula Support Program and ahead of her estimated due date on Christmas Day (December 25), we asked her a few questions on what it’s been like to connect with a volunteer doula through Birth for Humankind and how she’s feeling about her first pregnancy and birth in Australia.

How did you find out about Birth for Humankind?

“My very good friend (Fernanda) is part of the organisation [as a volunteer doula] and since she started working with Birth for Humankind she’s been very enthusiastic talking about her experience and all the other doulas in the group.”

Is this your first baby?

“No, I already have a 2.5 year old.”

Would you like to share anything about your personal/family circumstances that led to you being referred to Birth for Humankind?

“My husband and I are migrants, we have been less than five years living in Australia. We’re not familiarised with the health system in this country and it’s very different to ours. Besides, I don’t have much experience baby-related and felt scared to be having a second baby without knowing my rights/options clearly. Most important we wanted to have someone to guide and support us during labour since we don’t have family with us to help.

What sort of birth experience are you hoping to have?

“I just want to be in a safe place, surrounded by my safe circle of important people, giving my baby the best possible treatment so they can be delivered in a well nurtured environment.”

Elsy speaks Spanish as a first language and, thankfully, so does one of our most dedicated volunteer doulas, Elizabeth. We were able to match Elsy with Elizabeth so that they can communicate with each other more easily during pregnancy, labour and birth. Plus, Elizabeth has supported 23 women in two years with Birth for Humankind so Elsy is in very good and experienced hands! To read more about Elizabeth’s journey with another of our Doula Support Program clients, Nafisa, click here.

Volunteer Doula Extraordinaire Elizabeth Mazeyko with her three current clients, Elsy, Shirley and Yasmin pictured here with our Co-Founder Kirstan who is also expecting her first baby!

How has it been connecting with Elizabeth as your doula during your pregnancy?

“Elizabeth is great, for me and my family. She’s an angel sent to us in this difficult time to give us support, trust and confidence in our journey. Being able to speak our mother language is so comforting, I can express clearly my emotions, concerns and feelings, and it helps me feel understood and well taken care of. Her personality is amazing, since I met her, you can only feel a positive vibe and love coming from her.”

How are you feeling about the journey up ahead of birth and motherhood?

“I’m feeling very well cared for. This second time is so much different having Fernanda and Elizabeth by my side, they give me courage, tranquillity and so much love. I can’t thank them enough for their big hearts — they are definitely making a difference in my pregnancy journey.💗”

If you could tell people one thing about the service we offer at Birth for Humankind, what would it be?

“I think it is amazing, it’s heart-warming to know there’s a place like this, where so many women gather together to empower and care for their sisters. Birth for Humankind doulas make a difference in expectant mums, they make happier, safer mums that bring happier, healthier babies into this world.”

We exist so that women like Elsy can access the support she needs through pregnancy, birth and early parenting. To find out more or to support our work at Birth for Humankind, please visit: www.birthforhumankind.org

--

--

Birth for Humankind

We are a non-profit providing free pregnancy and birth support & education to women experiencing socio-economic disadvantage.