The Mag Safe Wallet with Find My — Should you buy it or not?

Björn Baumann
4 min readJul 18, 2022

--

Yesterday I decided to pay my local Apple Shop a spontaneous visit…

After having watched several Review Videos and deciding if I needed it or not, I finally concluded: „No“

No, I don‘t NEED it. But I WANT it.

The thing I am talking about is the 2021 Mag Safe Wallet with Find My…

5 different colours to choose from

The MagSafe Wallet comes in 5 different colors. Dark Cherry, Midnight, Golden Brown, Sequoia Green, and Wisteria.

The two choices for me were either midnight or saddle brown. Having a bright blue Cover on my iPhone I decided, the Golden Brown one was an amazing addition. Take a look:

The Golden Brown Version in all it‘s elegance

The Golden Brown version comes with a very nice, smooth leathery, mat texture. The midnight version that was on display in the store had some weird shine on the surface and didn’t feel as elegant. No idea if this was just the one in the store but the Golden Brown was my clear winner.

What it is and what it is not

The reason I wanted the Wallet was that I wanted to reduce the stuff in my pockets. I carry my items in the front pockets of my jeans or shorts. The items I carry are my AirPods Pro, a slim Wallet, my Keys, and my iPhone. If I have my backpack with me the AirPods and the keys go in the backpack.

The Mag Safe Wallet offered a great way to combine two of those items into one. With the Mag Safe Wallet, I could carry my phone and wallet in one pocket and leave the other pocket for my AirPods and Keys.

The Mag Safe Wallet is very simple. It‘s an ultra slim card holder that attaches magnetically to the back of your iPhone (given you have an iPhone 12 or higher). It can hold a maximum of 3 cards and that’s about it.

The Mag Safe Wallet is NOT a fully fledged wallet that holds cards, coins, and bills. And that’s the point of it. It‘s a minimalist wallet for people wanting to reduce clutter and focus on the essentials.

Cards can be easily pushed out

Build Quality & Material

The moment I unboxed the wallet, I was in love with it. As with other products, the feel of the wallet and the build quality is amazing. The stitching of the leather seams is very accurate and the leather feels amazing in your hand. It has a light leathery scent without being obtrusive.

I can tell you I am a real sucker for great quality and Apple has it nailed down with this wallet. Every time it‘s a joy to grab it and attach it to my phone, that welcomes the wallet with a luscious „clack.“

Now I can‘t give you a long-term review on the wallet yet, but I am pretty sure the material will be holding up pretty well.

Features and Mag Safe

There is not a lot to talk about in terms of features, other than the Wallet being magnetic and able to hold 3 of your cards. At the back of the wallet, you will find a hole for your thumb that makes it easy to push the cards out when you need them.

Ohh… right. And there is Find My. The latest version of this wallet offers support for the Find My Network. When attaching it to your iPhone for the first time, the wallet asks you to add the wallet to your Find My network.

But don‘t get too excited, since the Find My Options of the wallet are not what you might know from the Air Tags. You can mark the wallet as lost, so the finder will see your number when attaching the wallet to another iPhone. The wallet also notifies you after one minute, when the wallet is detached from your iPhone and shows you its last location.

What you won‘t find, is the „Find“function that lets your phone navigate you to your item, as it does with the AirTags. Bummer.

Supports Only Find My “light”

3 annoying things about the MagSafe Wallet

> 65 Euros in Germany and 59 Dollars in the US is steep
> Only a light version of FindMy Built-in
> Wallet has to be detached to access your cards

3 great things about the MagSafe Wallet

> High-Quality leather that looks and feels amazing
> Super-slim minimalist wallet that can replace your normal wallet
> Apple Pay also works when the wallet is attached + RFID protection built-in

Should you buy it or not?

If you are looking to reduce clutter in your pocket and can get by with just having 3 cards in your wallet, the Mag Safe Wallet is an easy choice. Of course, it’s the price is steep but if you appreciate quality materials, you will be more than happy with the Wallet.

If you are — on the other hand — expecting the Mag Safe Wallet to replace your wallet holding all sorts of things like bills, cards, and coins, then don‘t even bother.

PS: Oh, and if you are worried that the Wallet automatically detached from your phone when putting it in your pocket. Don‘t be. Unless you are wearing extremely tight pants and have a weird way of putting things into your pockets, the wallet will sit nice and flush on your iPhone without a problem.

--

--

Björn Baumann

Lots of advice on becoming a remote working freelancer / solopreneur is misleading. I write about what has worked for me, what hasn‘t and how I am doing it.