I’ll Never Be In A Cover Band..

And Other Lies I’ve Told Myself Over The Years

Tom Blair
10 min readJul 6, 2018

Cover band: a band that plays mostly or exclusively cover songs. New or unknown bands often find the format marketable for smaller venues, such as pubs, clubs, or parks. The bands also perform at private events, for example, weddings and birthday parties and may be known as a wedding band, party band, function band or band-for-hire. — Wikipedia entry link

Lets go back

My parents bought me a red Westone electric guitar when I was about 13, maybe 14 years old, roughly 1990. I’m old enough now that I’m cloudy about when exactly we went to pick it up. We bought the guitar, and amplifier, and a few accessories like picks, a strap, a tuner, and a couple of books to help me get started.

The late 80’s / early 90’s were an amazingly inspirational time for music. Big rock and metal bands of the day were creeping their way out of processed glam and into a more unique raw feel. Instead of singing about girls and motorcycles, many of these bands were diving into darker topics of the mind, and singing about political and social frustrations. I was heavily influenced by their…

--

--

Tom Blair

A musician with a desire to entertain, enlighten, inspire, and write about it all. #stayhungry #letsconnect