What Can The Guitar Retail Industry Learn From Apple Retail?

Tom Blair
9 min readMar 1, 2018

I’ve recently came across a few articles online (referenced in my post below) related to the guitar retail industry, specifically Gibson Guitars financial struggles as of late. I personally have worked in both guitar retail and in Apple retail so I wanted to share some thoughts.

Disclaimer: Before I get started here, understand that I only have my own knowledge and experiences to draw from, so my opinions in this post are only that, my opinions/observations. Also, just so we are clear.. the above images were found through simple google searching. They are not specifically picked to prove any point. That being said, some of my opinions will relate to product organization, merchandising, etc. Specific negative connotations are not intended, just food for thought.

“Troubled times” for the guitar retail industry?

There are reports that Gibson is nearing bankruptcy and having to make tough decisions to try and keep their future solvent.

--

--

Tom Blair

A musician with a desire to entertain, enlighten, inspire, and write about it all. #stayhungry #letsconnect