The Truth About Marrying in Your 20s

Julie Provost
4 min readSep 22, 2016
The Truth About Marrying in Your 20s

I think I got married at a “young” age. I was 23. I had just graduated from college. My husband was 25, almost 26. We dated for a little over a year.

Before I met my husband I had a plan. College, then marriage. I knew I had to get that degree before I would walk down the aisle. I met my husband my senior year and we got engaged after my graduation party.

We are 37 and 41 now. We are literally growing old together and I love doing that with him. Life right now is very different than our dating and early marriage years were. We have three children, a dog, different jobs, and a mortgage. Sometimes we do get that extra special time together we once had and we make the best of those moments.

When I got married I was one of the first in my circle of high school friends. Some of them didn’t get married until we were in our 30s. Some are still not married. I started having children when I was 25, some just started their families in the last couple of years.

As I look back to my young 23-year-old self I can’t help but wonder what life would have been like had I been 33 when I got married. I met my husband when I was 22. He was such a big part of my 20s. He and I grew through those years together and now heading into our 40s together.

Being Independent

--

--

Julie Provost

Writer & Blogger. Mom of three boys. Lover of books, movies, coffee, traveling, and time with friends and family.