On the Supreme Court, Independence Day, and What It Means to Love America

“With fear for our democracy, I dissent.” What comes next?

Staten Blogging
8 min readJul 3, 2024
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

In the days leading up to America’s 248th birthday, many of us have been reeling over the recent US Supreme Court decision on Presidential immunity, and what it means for the future of the country if the President cannot be held legally accountable for crimes committed in the name of their office.

Responses have varied, from “Joe Biden has the opportunity to do some of the funniest things right now” (he won’t — malicious compliance sounds like an amazing idea but he seems to be taking the “moral high road” and playing by rules that no longer govern the game), to “time to bring out the guillotines” (am I going to get in trouble for typing that on a public forum? Rest assured I am merely quoting the masses).

Realistically, it seems as if the main response right now is complacency. A disappointed sigh, and talks of how unacceptable it is…and no action.

I’d really like to see some action.

But what would that actually mean? I’ve been hearing people screaming “revolution” for years, and nothing’s happened…but what if it did? What if people decided that the threat to democracy is real enough that citizens taking matters into our…

--

--

Staten Blogging

Sometimes I write poetry. Sometimes I write about feminism, parenting, or feminist parenting. Sometimes I just shout about how gay I am. Good luck.