Show Your Work — Games, A Short Story

Andre Brown
7 min readOct 7, 2022

Hello, read this short story I wrote inspired by this gloomy playlist. LINK INSIDE

Img created by Author on Canva

Preview-you can’t live by the brain, only the heart. And that’s why we’re where we are now, she couldn’t stop seeing the world from the brain’s perspective and now her heart is fighting to be in the top spot.

I love writing short stories so if you’re interested in that, give my profile a look. I’ve written quite a few shorts now from Fantasy, to Romance, and even crime. All available on Amazon Kindle.

But this one is for my Medium readers. Enjoy! :)

INSPIRATION

Games

Not sure if it’s just that I’ve been keeping track lately or what, but I swear the longer life goes on the more sighs a person takes. I rub my face with an ink-stained hand and go to thinking about everything that’s happened in the last few months. Let’s see: University isn’t getting any easier, I’m miles away from my family, I have almost no friends here in California, oh and she’s here and we aren’t even together anymore… She walks down the hall laughing about something with her friends. She freezes when her eyes lock on me. I’m already frozen, so I stay that way. I look her in the eyes and I let myself go. Fuck it, right? Who cares if she thinks I’m desperate? I am desperate, just not enough to…

--

--