May 2022: Hacking with the ETH community in Amsterdam (English version)

Bolu Ajibawo
2 min readMay 8, 2022

--

In April, I was in Amsterdam for a hackathon. The hackathon is called ETHAmsterdam. There, I met so many cool people.
I had a wonderful time. Normally, when I am in Berlin, I have one or two friends that has interesting in crypto, but in the hackathon all has interesting in crypto, I guess 1000 people was there. Everyone has a lot of energy, a lot of passion, a lot of motivation, a lot of friendliness, I felt at home. Now, I know that I will work in crypto. Everything is clear in my head, but I need patience, patience to finish my German lessons. On the first week in May, I finished my B2.1 classes. There are only B2.2, C1.1, C1.2. Three months, only three months….

To learn and improve, you always have to be uncomfortable, a bit further than before.
For example, in the last month, I tried a lot of German speaking, listening and writing. I changed the language on my laptop to German.
It is not easy, but I continue. I believe that with more practice, I will go further, every day practice.

Curiosity is important for my learning, also energy from other people, I learned that from ETHAmsterdam.

Positive messages and affirmations are important for the body and the brain. In the gym, I say to myself a lot of positive messages, that gives you motivation and the whole day, my brain and body feels better. When I was a child, my mother always said a lot of positive messages, that I am smart and intelligent and I will do great things. That gives me confidence. I think as adults, we don’t get as much self positive messages and that is healthy for us, we miss that.

In sports also, especially basketball, after a good games or dunk, the player says “uhn”, that means “I am best”, that give them more confidence, more energy, and they have more success, it is a positive feedback loop. Mental health is underestimated, we need more self positive messages/affirmations, also from our friends, it is better for mental health. Gives you energy and you feel better about yourself. The last month, I have said more many positive messages, to my friends and my self, I feel good :)

Time and time again, we see that people have wrong thinking and belief. What is wrong now? What would be stupid in the future — maybe 10 or 20 years e.g. baseball sport people don’t use data science (I learned this from the movie: Moneyball), and earlier basketball player thought that weight training is bad for the body. People didn’t believe in the internet in 90’s, and now everyone uses the internet.
Time and time again, people have always believed wrongly about the present, but we are sure that the future is different from the present.

What should I ask? What do I need more information about?
What do I think is truth, but in the future is wrong or different?

Have a nice month.

See you next time.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

--

--