Harry Potter and the Cursed Child — Book Rant

#4 of 30 book rants where I, a person with no legitimate literary qualifications, will pass my judgement on books I read.

Em Bee
4 min readAug 3, 2016

Written by J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany.

The Plot:

The story picks up from nineteen years after the Battle of Hogwarts, where Harry, Ron, Hermione and Ginny drop off their kids at Platform Nine Three Quarters.

Albus Severus Potter, Harry and Ginny’s second son is full of insecurities.

As he steps into the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, Albus has to struggle with the weight of the legacy that the three people whose names he bears left behind — and a past he wants nothing to do with.

What I thought: (This is going to be emotional, bear with me)

Nine long years since I last held a Harry Potter book in my hand. Lot has changed then. We grew up. But the child in us Potterheads is still hoping for the letter from Hogwarts.

I was sceptical about this book, to be honest. I did not want to buy it at first. I never bought any of the offshoot pieces, and haven’t read them. I thought it would be the same with this one. But, one day Amazon offered a very good deal for preordering, and I thought ‘What the hell.’ And just went for it.

Coming to the story. You know how as a child we couldn’t wait to be adults? And then life happened, and we realised how much adulting sucks? Well this story tells you that even with magic life wouldn’t be better, in fact it might just spell more troubles. Harry is grown up, at a job, a father. All the great things and saving the world is behind him.

But then I liked it better when Harry was a child. My childhood seemed somehow connected with his stories. I was too close to the story.

Harry grew up, and so did I.

Childhood is officially over, and the next generation will never understand me. My kids will not understand the significance of these eight books on my shelf (shudders)!

Just like all those who have read the books and loved them, I did not like the movies much. I am all for details and missed that in this book, which is basically the script of a two-part West End stage play.

There is not much time for new characters to build, and we are flitting through the story too quickly. Some of the characters seem to be inconsistent with how we know them through the seven books.

Maybe I am comparing this too much to the pure Rowling works. But then again, without those, this one would not even stand a chance.

Don’t get me wrong. The plot is pretty good. And I am sure it was a brilliant play to watch as well (I never read the reviews — afraid of spoilers and forming perceptions before reading). But purely as a book, it failed to Charm me.

It takes time to get used to the script format. I miss some of the characters. Bringing at least a few more of the Weasleys would have added a much needed comic relief to the story. And Ron was.. well, just not Ron at all.

I guess the fact that this had to be a stage play made the story slightly devoid of magic — literally and figuratively.

Overall, impressed with the story, disappointed with how it was served. I really wish Rowling had written this into a novel.

Who should read this:

  • Harry Potter fans: Obviously, because you got to be updated about the Potter world.

Who should not read this:

  • Harry Potter fans who are loyal to the original books and books only: If you didn’t enjoy the movies, this not going to be very good for you. Don’t ruin the child in you. It’s too late for me, but you my friend, run!
  • Newbies to the Potter World: Don’t even think about it. Start with the first book, at least watch all the movies before you even think of touching this one. It’s not gonna make sense. Life doesn’t work that way.

A quote or two:

Well. The book is composed mostly of dialogues and I don’t know, maybe I rushed through it too quick, I didn’t find anything awe inspiring. Maybe you could tell me some once you get to reading.

Thanks for reading!

Next up: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

Read my previous book rant here: My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk

--

--

Em Bee

Journalist? Writer? Feminist? Adult? Just figuring it out.